History of Luzerne County, Pa.,
by H.C. Bradsby, 1893
FREDRICK BACH, farmer, P.O. Town Line, was born in Germany, May 1, 1840, a son of George F. and Barbara (Sibley) Bach. In 1852 the father emigrated to this country, and coming to Luzerne county located in Wilkes-Barre. He died in 1873, aged sixty-five years. He reared a family of six children, five of whom are living, Fredrick being the second. Our subject was reared and educated partly in Germany and partly in this country, and was twelve years of age when he emigrated with his parents to the United States. In early life he learned the molders' trade, at which he worked about twelve years. At the age of twenty, April 18, 1861, he enlisted in Company G, Eighth P.V.I., for three months, but served four, and was honorably discharged. He then enlisted in Company A, Twelfth United States Regulars, for the term of three years. He participated in the following battles: Fort Donelson, Shiloh (where he received a slight wound), Williamsburg, Fair Oaks (where he was again wounded), and the Seven Days' Fight (where he was again wounded, and also taken prisoner). After a few weeks he was exchanged, and finally discharged on account of disabilities. He held the rank of first sergeant, and was honorably mentioned as being a good soldier. After his return to civil life he again took to his trade, but finding he could not do others justice in working for them in his disabled condition he abandoned Journeyman work and opened a shop in his own name In Shickshinny, and here established a foundry, where he worked nine years. He then went to Kansas, remaining there sixteen years, engaged in farming and stock-raising. Returning to Luzerne county, on account of his health, he purchased a farm of 118 acres, in Union township, where he now resides. During his residence in Shickshinny he was burgess of the borough, and a member of the council. In 1864 he married Miss Anna E. Adleman, who was born in 1845 where she now resides, a daughter of Peter and Lydia Adleman, and to this union were born seven children: Lilly, Laura, Harvey, Charles, Eddy, Pearl and Harry, all yet living. Mr. Bach is a member of the G.A.R. and enjoys a pension. Politically he is a Democrat.
DANIEL BAER, farmer, P.O. Prichard, was born in Union township, January 10, 1835, where he was reared, and educated at the common school. He is a son of Joseph and Catherine (Cope) Baer, the former born in Lehigh county, the latter it is supposed in the same county. Joseph was a son of Henry Baer who removed to this county in its early history, locating in Union township. He owned considerable land, was a pioneer of some importance in his township, and led a long and useful though not eventful life. He reared an interesting family of eight children. His son, Joseph, who was a young man when he removed to this county, married Miss Cope, in the county. He began his business career as a farmer in Union township; was a practical farmer, a worthy citizen and an honest trustworthy man, enjoying the full confidence of his neighbors. He and his wife are now living in comfortable circumstances, and enjoying good health. They reared a family of six children, four of whom are living, Daniel being the third in the family. Our subject has always followed farming. In his younger days he worked out by the month, and by 1861 he had accumulated sufficient money to buy himself a home. His farm contains 115 acres of land, eighty of which he has improved. He is a hard worker, and is honest and energetic. On November 3, 1862, Mr. Baer married Miss Elizabeth Benjamin, who was born in Catawissa in 1829, a daughter of Samuel and Barbara Benjamin, and to this union were born five children, four of whom are living: Monema A., Catherine M., Margaret A. and Nora E. Of these, Margaret A. married Luther Wilkinson. Politically Mr. Baer is a Democrat.
D.D. BAER, farmer, P.O. Shickshinny, was born (July 9, 1852), reared and educated in Union township. He is a son of David and Sarah (Yuels) Baer, the former born in Heidelberg, the latter in Conyngham. David is a son of Henry and Elizabeth Baer, of Lehigh county, Pa., who removed to this county in 1822. They located in Union township on a farm of eighty-eight acres, out of which they made a comfortable home. The father was a hard-working and industrious man. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, and politically he was a Whig. He died March 18, 1852, aged seventy-three years, having reared a family of nine children, all of whom grew to maturity. Two of these are still living. David is the youngest of the family, and was two years of age when his father removed to the county. He always followed agricultural pursuits, and has always been a resident of the township and county. On April 2, 1845, he was married to Miss Sarah Yuels, and to this union were born four children, three of whom are now living: Rachel E., D.D., and James R. D.D. Baer is the third in the family, and has, like his father, always followed agricultural pursuits. He lived at home until he was twenty-two years of age, when he married Miss Melissa, daughter of Hiram and Mary A. Birth. To Mr. and Mrs. Baer have been born six children, three of whom are living: D. Boyd, J. Delbert and Olive D. Mrs. Baer was born in Ross township July 20, 1855. Our subject removed on September 15, 1878, to his present farm of 135 acres, where he has built a most beautiful mansion, in the most modern style, with hot and cold water all over the house, which is supplied from one of the finest springs in the country. His farm is under good control. Mr. Baer is a wide awake man, and thoroughly industrious in his business. His orchards are thriving and bear the finest fruit; his crop runs principally to hay. With other improvements, he has a fine well-stocked carp pond, which supplies his table with the finny tribe. Politically he is a Democrat, and has held several township offices.
NATHAN BAER, farmer, P.O. Shickshinny, was born in Union township, November 25, 1837, a son of Joseph and Catherine (Cope) Baer, the former of whom was born in Lehigh county, Pa., July 14, 1806; the latter in Union county, same State, April 5, 1809. Joseph Baer is a son of Henry Baer, also a native of Lehigh county, who removed to this county about 1821, locating in Union township, on a farm of eighty acres, on which he built a log cabin, in which he and his family lived comfortably. During his lifetime there were seventy-eight acres cleared, ten acres having been cleared before he bought it. Mr. Baer was a hard working, honest, industrious man. Physically, he was strong, possessed of a robust and healthy frame. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church. He lived to be seventy-seven years of age, his wife dying at the age of seventy. They reared a family of nine children, all of whom grew to maturity, and two of them are now living, David and Joseph. Joseph Baer began life in Union township on a farm of fifty acres. At the age of twenty-four he married Miss Catherine Cope, by whom he had six sons, four of whom are living, and two of them were in the Civil war. Joseph, like all other pioneers, experienced many hardships, but succeeded in overcoming all obstacles, and is to day living in the enjoyment of the society of his beloved life-companion. They are members of the Lutheran Church; politically, he is a Democrat. Nathan Baer, who is the fourth son of Joseph, has always followed farming, being a practical agriculturist, and moreover, he is a natural genius. He lived at the parental home until his marriage in 1867 with Miss Alma L., daughter of George Glase. Nine children were born to this union, all of whom are living, all yet single: Lewis D., Clinton H., Edward W., Joseph S., Minnie A., Miner E., Bertha M., Mason B. and Bessie C. Mrs. Baer was born in Huntington township, in 1845. Mr. Baer removed in 1859 to his present place, comprising a farm of one hundred and eighty acres of valuable land, ninety of which are under cultivation. He is essentially a practical farmer. No one can stand on the porch of his beautiful home and view the pleasing aspect - enhanced as it is by fruitful trees and bowing harvest fields whose growth and development are the result of a guiding mind and watchful care - without being struck with admiration. Mr. and Mrs. Baer are members of the Presbyterian Church; he is a Democrat.
LUCIAN H. BAILEY, proprietor of the Wilkes-Barre Bus Line, was born at Factoryville, May 28, 1863. His father, Felix S. Bailey, was a native of Plainsville. The subject of this sketch came to Wilkes-Barre September 30, 1873, where for several years he attended the public schools. His first venture on his own account was made in 1885, when he embarked in the ice business, which he successfully conducted for the next six years. After that period he established the bus line, which runs from the corner of Franklin and Market streets to Carey avenue; half hourly trips are made, and as the vehicles are a great convenience, they are well patronized. Mr. Bailey is a pleasant and obliging gentleman, universally liked.
CHARLES E. BAIRD, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Carbondale, Pa., August 10, 1864, a son of Joseph and Mary (Mills) Baird. His paternal grandfather, James Baird, a native of Scotland, came to America in 1828, and put up the machinery for the first paper-mill in the United States. He was at one time a resident of Wilkes-Barre, one of the proprietors of the Eagle Foundry, and died at Scranton in 1888, at the age of eighty-one years. Joseph Baird, father of Charles E., was born in Jersey City, N.J.; was a machinist by trade, and resided in Scranton, for many years. At the time of his death, which occurred in 1878, at Binghamton, N.Y., he was inspector of machinery at the shops of Shapply & Wells, of that city. His wife, Mary, was the daughter of Theodore Mills, a native of Greenbush, N.Y., and an early settler of Carbondale, where he died. Joseph and Mary (Mills) Baird were the parents of four children: Charles E., Theodore M., George C. and Arthur J. Our subject was reared in Scranton, Pa., and Binghampton, N.Y., and was educated in the public schools. For ten years he has been engaged in the sewing machine business, and has resided in Wilkes-Barre since November, 1891. On September 22, 1886, Mr. Baird married Mary, daughter of Robert L. and Julia (Oakley) Gere, of Brooklyn, Pa. They have three children: Robert, Lawrence and Claude. Mr. Baird is a member of the I.O.O.F. and Jr. O.U.A.M.; he is a Republican.
DAVID BAIRD, merchant, P.O. Edwardsdale, was born in Airdrie, Scotland, February 17, 1835, and is a son of Alexandra and Ellen (Hunter) Baird, also natives of Scotland. In 1837 his parents emigrated with their family to Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, where they remained until 1850, when they moved to Jeansville, this county. From there, after a short sojourn, they proceeded to New Mines, same State, and in 1856 the parents moved to Illinois, where they passed the remainder of their lives. At the age of fourteen, our subject began life for himself, working in the mines at New Mines, Pa., where he remained until 1854, in which year he moved to Jeansville, same State, and worked in a sawmill. From there he went to La Salle, Ill., where he worked in the mines until 1860; then returned to New Mines, and continued mining there until the breaking out of the Civil war. On April 23, 1861, he enlisted at Harrisburg, Pa., in Company I, Fifteenth P.V. He was at the battle of Falling Water and the skirmish on the Martinsburg road, where he and thirty-eight other members of the company were taken prisoners. He was taken to Winchester and thence to Libby Prison, July 18, 1861, where he was confined until the folloiwng October,when he was removed to New Orleans Parish Prison; thence in the early part of February, 1862, he was taken to Salisbury Prison, Salisbury, N.C., and was there confined until May 28, when he was removed to Goldsborough, and from there to New Berne, where he was paroled and sent to New York. On June 12, 1862, he was discharged at Harrisubrg from the service on account of disability caused by imprisonment. Returning to New Mines, he here remained for a short time, and then proceeded to Belleville, Ill., where he engaged in mining, remaining there until 1864, in which year he returned to Pennsylvania and followed mining at Plymouth until 1867, when he went to Yorktown and from there to Arnot, same State. In 1868 he came to Kingston, where he mined until 1883, since when he has been engaged in the mercantile business. Mr. Baird was married in 1872 to Miss Anna, daughter of Frederick Metzler, of New York, and of German descent. Mr. Baird was once a very active member of the Greenback party, but at present he is identified with the Republicans. He was a delegate to the national convention held, in 1880, in Chicago, and was treasurer of the same in this county; also delegate, two terms, for the State convention in Pennsylvania.
ROBERTSON BAIRD, blacksmith, Inkerman, Jenkins township, was born in Glasgow, Scotland, July 13, 1845, and is a son of William and Margaret (Andrew) Baird. The father, who was a carpenter is his native country, came to America in 1848, landing in Nova Scotia, whence he journeyed to Pittston, Pa., where he was engaged in mining for John Butler, and whither he brought his family three months later. He followed mining in Pittston till 1853, when he met with a fatal accident, being the first man killed on the Pennsylvania Gravity Railroad. The family consisted of six childen, of whom the following are living: Margaret, married to George Fell (he was a soldier in the Mexican war, and was killed in the Civil war at the battle of Antietam), by whom she had two children: Mary (Mrs. William Dow) and Margaret (Mrs. H.H. Halleck); Mary, married to Peter Smyser, by whom she had two children: Jean (Mrs. Dr. Eckler, of Helena, Mont.) and Elizabeth (Mrs. Walter S. Brown, of Ogden, Utah) (Mrs. Smyser married, for her second husband, Abraham Minich, a merchant of Columbia Falls, Mont., by whom she had two children, Butler J. and Frank); Guy A., master mechanic in the Sheldon Axle Works, Wilkes-Barre; Jennie, married to David Blanchard, and Robertson; Nettie, who married Oliver Decker, a clerk in Wannamaker's store in Philadelphia, died at the age of forty-three years, leaving one child, Maud. Our subject was educated in the public shcool, and at an early age embarked in life as a laboring man, being engaged successively in the following: Picking slate, one year; farming, one year; engineer at the Pittston Water Works, one year; pumping at the No. 1 Shaft, Pennsylvania Coal Company, two and a half years; and in 1863 engaged with John Hanson, of Pittston, with whom he remained one and a half years in Pittston, and two and a half years in Inkerman. He then purchased the shop he has since carried on with very profitable results. He built his present residence in 1868. He owns one other house in Inkerman, besides 100 acres of oil land in Elk county, Pa., also several town lots and 160 aces of timber land at Columbia Falls, Mont. Mr. Baird was married, November 13, 1869, to Miss Annie, daughter of Alexander and Jennie (Adamson) Robertson, natives of Wanlockhead, Scotland. This union has been blessed with nine children, eight of whom are living, viz.: William W., and Margret, residents of Columbia Falls, Mont., where the former is engaged in the real estate business; Archibald, weigh master and shipping clerk at Colliery No. 6, Pennsylvania Coal Company; A. guy, a student at Wilkes-Barre Business College; Alexander, Nettie, Bertha and Ethel. Mr. and Mrs. Baird are members of the Presybterian Church. He is a member of the F. & A.M., I.O.O.F. and the K. of H., and is a Republican in his political views.
ANDREW JACKSON BALDWIN, coal operator, Trucksville, was born on the old Baldwin farm in Jackson township, this county, August 5, 1824, and is the second son of Jared R. and Mary H. (Baker) Baldwin, the former a native of New Jersey, and the latter of Pennsylvania. Our subject received his early education in this county, and at the age of sixteen learned the printer's business at Wilkes-Barre, serving three years, when he commenced the publication of the Wilkes-Barre Transcript, and a German paper called the Demokratiche Waechter, which he published for one year when he returned to Wilkes-barre and opened a book and job printing office. This business he continued until 1852, when he was appointed superintendent of the old Philadelphia & Wilkes-Barre Telegraph Company, which position he held until 1864, when he began the construction of telegraph lines as a contractor, following same until 1888. After leaving the Telegraph Construction Company he became engaged in the business he is now following. Mr. Baldwin was married in 1847 to Miss Mary H., daughter of Daniel and Melinda (Blackman) Collings, natives of Wyoming Valley. To this union have been born five children: George P., of Philadelphia; Lillie M., wife of C.A. Jackson; Alexander G., at home; Harry H., engaged in the coal business; and Maud H., wife of Andrew Raub, of Luzerne, Pa. Politically Mr. Baldwin has always been interested in the Republican party, although principle usually governs his vote, rather than party influence. He is a member of the F. & A.M., and of the Episcopal Church.
E.B. BALDWIN, manager of the Pittston Factory, Pittston. This well known, successful gentleman was born in Prince George's county, Md., February 18, 1862, and is the fourth in a family of five children of Thomas J., and Cornelia (Matthis) Baldwin, also natives of Maryland. Our subject was reared on a farm, and educated in the public schools of his native place. At the age of seventeen he commenced blacksmithing, working at the trade two years, when he came north and began railroading as fireman on the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, running between Scranton and Northumberland. He remained on the road four years, and then resigned his position to accept a more lucrative one at Plymouth, Pa., as manager of an underwear factory operated by Galland Bros., of Wilkes-Barre. There he remained until 1855, when he came to Pittston and took charge of their large factory at that place, his present incumbency. Mr. Baldwin was united in marriage April 27, 1887, with Miss Nellie B., daughter of John L. and Mary (Duffield) Courtright, natives of England. This union has been blessed by the birth of one child, Darrell. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church. In political matters Mr. Baldwin is a Democrat.
JOHN H. BALDWIN, railroad conductor on the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad, with residence at Kingston. Among the popular and successful men of the Wyoming Valley, the gentleman whose name heads this sketch ranks second to none. He was born in Richmond, Va., December 13, 1859, and is a son of Thomas J. and Cordelia A. (Matthews) Baldwin, natives of Maryland, and descendants of old Virginia fmailies. Mr. Baldwin was educated at Buckeystown, Va., and at the early age of eight years went to work on a farm at that place. At fourteen he removed to Martinsburg, W. Va., where he was also engaged in farming four years, at the end of which time he removed to Washington, D.C., where he was engaged as watchman in the Washington market. Remaining there about two years, he came to Kingston, this county, and was employed by the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western Railroad Company as "water boy," and after a short time he was promoted, as he says, to the "pick and shovel," which laborious occupation he followed about three months, when he was promoted to brakeman for the same company. After two years he was further promoted to conductor of a coal train, which position he held two years, when he was given charge of a passenger train, which position he now holds. Mr. Baldwin was married April 22, 1891, to Miss Mary S. Toole, of Northumberland, Pa. He is a member of the Order of Railway Conductors, and his political views are Democratic.
MARTIN BALLIET, farmer, P.O. Conyngham, was born in Sugar Loaf township January 24, 1840, son of Jacob S. and Eliza (Houseknecht) Balliet. Both his paternal and maternal grandfathers, Stephen Balliet and Martin Houseknecht, natives of Pennsylvania, were pioneers of Sugar Loaf township. His father, Jacob S., was a farmer and carpenter, and settled in Sugar Loaf about 1837, where he died October 28, 1881. His children were: Martin, Jane (Mrs. Aaron Smith), Sallie (Mrs. William Walter), Alice (Mrs. William Olewine), and Savilla (Mrs. William McMurtrie). Our subject was reared in Sugar Loaf township, where he has always resided. He received his education in the common schools, and in the State Normal School at Millersville, and began life as a clerk in a general store. He later taught in the public schools for three years, and since 1878 has been Engage in farming. He married, March 14, 1868, Margaret, daughter of Jacob and Margaret (Kobler) Bohlander, of Sugar Loaf township, and has four children: Annie (Mrs. Dole Hines), Amelia (Mrs. John Polk), William and Laura May. Mr. Balliet is a representative and enterprising citizen of Sugar Loaf. In religion he is a member of the Reformed Church, and in politics is a Democrat.
FRANK H. BANKER, the well-known real estate and loan broker, of Pittston (of which place he is a native), was born February 28, 1858. His parents are among the oldest residents of the Wyoming Valley. His father, Charles Banker, a railroad contractor, located in Pittston in the year 1842, about which time he married Mary A., daughter of Francis Yates, founder of the borough of Yatesville, Pa., in whose honor the town was named. Of their marriage there are four children, viz.: John P. Banker, a well-to-do Kansas farmer and stock raiser; Susan, wife of Rev. G.M. Colville, D.D.; Frank H., real estate and loan broker, and Nellie M., teacher in the West Pittston High School. Frank H. Banker attended the Wyoming College of Business with a view to fitting himself for a professional penman, but in the spring of 1878 he emigrated to Kansas, and engaged with the J.B. Watkins Land Mortgage Co., at Lawrence. Finding him well adapted to the business, he was, in a few years, transferred to Texas, the company's new field of operation. Realizing that a knowledge of law would be of much service in his business, he took the course as prescribed by the supreme Court, and having on February 7, 1888, passed a final examination before members of the Brown county (Texas) bar, a license to practice law was granted. The company next decided to extend business into Louisiana, and Mr. Banker was selected to open an office at Lake Charles, which he did. After remaining with the Watkins company for more than nine years, he next engaged in the real estate and loaning business for himself at his former home in Pittston, Pa. Here, on September 25, 1889, he was united in marriage with Helen S., youngest daughter of LeGrange and Mary J. Daman. Their marriage has since been blessed with a little daughter, Ida May. The subject of this sketch is a member of the West Side Presbyterian Church; also one of the board of directors of the Y.M.C.A. In conclusion: Mr. Banker is securing for himself a nice business, in the interest of which he publishes a monthly paper entitled Banker's Real Estate News, and he enjoys the confidence of the entire community.
JAMES BANKS, engineer, Port Blanchard, was born July 28, 1835, in County Mayo, Ireland, and is fourth in the order of birth in the family of six children of Anthony and Ann (Burke) Banks, natives of the same place. He is descended in a direct line from Thomas Banks, the famous English sculptor, who was born in Lambeth, England, December 1735, and died covered with honors, February 2, 1805. Our subject settled in this county in 1847, and worked as a driver in the mines from 1850 until 1852. He was then employed as a brakeman on the railroad, and in 1858 as a fireman on the locomotive "Spitfire," one of the first locomotives imported from England, and which was afterward exhibited at the Philadelphia Centennial. In 1860 Mr. Banks was employed as headsman, but in 1864 he met with a very serious accident, having the shin bone of his right leg ground almost entirely out. From 1866 up to the present he has been engaged in his present position as engineer at No. 1 Plane, Philadelphia Coal Company. On June 30, 1857, our subject was united in marriage with Alice, daughter of Ashbell T. and Maria (Halsted) Hobbs, natives of Susquehanna county, Pa., and they have been Blessed with the following children: Mary J., born April 20, 1858, married to A.H. Fellows, furniture dealer, Humboldt, Neb.; William, born July 14, 1860; Annie, born March 11, 1862; James, born November 7, 1864; Alice, born May 12, 1866; Theresa, born August 5, 1870; Eugene, born June 2, 1875, and Walter, born February 1, 1881. Our subject is a member of the Roman Catholic Church, and the C.T.A.U. In politics he is a Democrat.
HENRY BANTA, merchant and saloon-keeper, Luzerne, was born in Newfoundland, Passaic county, N.J., July 1, 1853, a son of Henry and Sarah (Angle) Banta, both of whom were born in New Jersey, were farmers of some respect, and are, at present writing, living in New Jersey. Henry's father had two near relatives in the Revolutionary war who were captured by the British, taken to some prison ship lying at New York, and were never heard of afterward. Indeed, both of the Bantas and Angles are prominent men in history. The Bantas come of Dutch ancestry who emigrated to this country early in the seventeenth century; the Angles are of English descent. The family of Henry and Sarah Banta consisted of eleven children, ten of whom reached maturity, and seven are now living, Henry being the sixth of the family. Our subject was reared and educated in Passaic county, N.J., where he in early life confined himself to agricultural pursuits. In 1871 he removed to this county, locating at Shickshinny, where he remained two years; thence to Nanticoke, where he resided seven years; and from there he removed in 1880 to Broderick's, Kingston township, this county, where he was engaged in mining. In 1884 he embarked in mercantile business in conjunction with his mine work, at which he prospered beyond his expectations; has also been in the saloon business since 1889. He is a man of enterprise and push, one who has made what he has by hard labor, economy and good judgment. During his mining experience he received an injury from a premature explosion, which burnt his arms and face, though not seriously. On September 14, 1873, Mr. Banta married Miss Helen A., daughter of Willard and Mary E. Green, and nine children were born to them, four of whom are now living: Elmer E., Nellie, Henry and Eugene G. Mrs. Banta's mother is a cousin to Col. Elsworth, noted in the history of our late Civil war. Mr. Banta had two brothers, John J. and Charles G., also in that war, serving in the Northern army. Mr. Banta is a member of the P.O.S. of A. and of the I.O.O.F., and Encampment. Politically he is a Republican.
DAVID BARBER (deceased) was born in Forty Fort, in 1827, and was a son of John and Ellen E. Barber. He was a boat-builder by trade, but was a breaker-boss during the last nine years of his life. He died July 20, 1880. The family lived at Plainsville sixteen years, and in 1890 removed to their present home on Swoyer's Hill. Mr. Barber was married, in 1851, to Ruth A., daughter of Joseph and Ellen E. Staller, natives of New Jersey, and of New England origin, and to this union were born thirteen children, ten of whom are living, viz: Joseph, Emma (Mrs. J.L. Arnot), Alonzo G. (engineer at the Keystone Colliery), Stella (married to John MacKeever, foreman of the Wire works, Wilkes-Barre), Clarence E. (pumpman at the Wilkes-Barre Water Works), Cora (married to Jacob McNeal, train dispatcher, Ashley), Jessie M. (a fashionable dressmaker, who does work for some of the elite of Wilkes-Barre, and resides at home), Carrie E. (married to Grier Blanchard, weighmaster, Pittston) and Francis M. and Fred, drivers in the Henry Colliery. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church, and politically are in sympathy with the Republican party.
JOHN FOSTER BARBER. This well-known and highly popular merchant of Hazleton was born in New Berlin, Union Co., Pa., December 3, 1843, a son of Col. Robert B. and Mary Jane (Foster) Barber. Col. Robert B. Barber, who is a son of Samuel Barber, was born in Buffalo Valley, Pa., February 3, 1812, in an old log house built by his grandfather in 1772. He received a liberal education at the public schools of his time, and graduated at Jefferson College in 1835; studied law, and in 1837 was admitted to the bar of Union county, Pa. In 1839 he was appointed deputy attorney-general by Governor Porter, and again in 1846 by Governor Shunk; in 1852 he was given the rank of colonel by Governor Bigler. He has been very prominent in politics, also in the Presybterian Church, and is a man of high literary attainments. Our subject was educated in the common schools, in the Union Seminary at New Berlin, also in Mifflinsburg Academy, and at the age of twenty-four commenced teaching. During one year he went to Eastman's Business College, where he graduated, and then resumed teaching. After a short time he accepted a postion as clerk in a hardware store at Poughkeepsie, N.Y., where he remained about one year, when he again resumed teaching. He taught in the Union Seminary about a year, and then, in 1870, came to Hazleton, where he entered the employ of J.P. Youngman & Co., as clerk in their hardware store. One year later he bought out his employers, and in 1877 he sold an interest in the business to his brother, Charles W. Barber, who has since been a partner, the firm being now known as J.F. Barber & Co., the concern being one of the most extensive hardware establishments in Luzerne county. Mr. Barber has been twice married, first time to Minerva S. Swenck, who departed this life in 1876, leaving one infant child, Minerva S., who died seven months later. Mr. Barber married, November 12, 1890, for his second wife, Miss Agnes Schultz, of Colebrookdale, Berks Co., Pa. Mr. Barber is an elder in the Presbyterian Church. Politically he is a Democrat, and has been a member of the Hazleton school board, and of the select council of the borough.
JOSEPH BARBER, head carpenter at the Henry Mine, Plainsville, was born in Wilkes-Barre, March 7, 1852, and is a son of David and Ruth A. (Stalter) Barber, natives of Wilkes-Barre and New Jersey, and of Yankee and Dutch-Irish origin respectively. His father, who was a boat-builder and carpenter, reared a family of thirteen children, ten of whom are living, and of whom he is the eldest. He was educated in the public schools of Wilkes-Barre, and began life working at his father's trade, boat-building, for about two years, having since worked at the carpenter's trade. He was engaged by Sooy Smith & Co., of New York, as foreman, constructing bridges on the Yazoo and Mississippi rivers for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad; and then one, a mile and a quarter long, across the Susquehanna river, at Havre-de-Grace, Md.; and, after a short stay at home, one across the Schuylkill, at Philadelphia, for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad. He then took charge of the carpenter work on the tunnel on Twenty-fifth street, Philadelphia, Drake, Stratton & Co., contractors for the Baltimore & Ohio Railroad Company; then resumed work for Sooy Smith & Co., taking charge of a gang of carpenters on a bridge on the Pennsylvania Railroad, at Birmingham, Pa., and afterward superintended the construction of a bridge across the Tombigbee river at Mobile, Ala.; and, after a few months working in Pittsburgh, took charge of the carpenter ship of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company at Summer Hill, Pa. He then came to Plains and worked in the car shop at the Enterprise Shaft for a year and a half, and again resumed work for Sooy Smith & Co. as superintendent of the carpenter work on a bridge across the Ohio, at Pittsburgh, for the Pennsylvania Railroad. Mr. Barber was then engaged in car carpentering at the Enterprise Shaft, Plains, Jermyn, Pa., and in 1890 worked on the Lehigh Valley Railroad bridge at Port Bowkley; he engaged in his present occupation in January, 1891. Mr. Barber was married March 20, 1888, to Clarissa A., daughter of John and Catherine P. (Aton) Miller, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German And Yankee origin respectively. They have one child, Leonard W. He and his family usually attend the Methodist Episcopal Church; he has always given his political support to the Republican party.
LEMUEL A. BARBER, retired carpenter, Forty Fort, was born in Wilkes-Barre August 17, 1829, and is a son of Josephus and Annie (Weaver) Barber, natives of Forty Fort and Nanticoke, and of English and German origin respectively. His ancestors on both sides were early settlers in the Wyoming Valley. His father (who was a shoemaker by trade) reared a family of four children, two of whom are yet living, Lemuel A., and Sarah A.,married to T.A. Dennis, who is a carpenter and resides in Wilkes-Barre.Our subject embarked in life at the age of seventeen by learning the carpenter's trade, which, together with contracting and jobbing, he has since followed, working on many of the largest and most important buildings in Wilkes-Barre, where he resided until 1870, excepting during 1849-50, when he lived in Forty Fort. From Wilkes-Barre he removed to his present beautiful residence, which he had just completed. Mr. Barber, whose success in life is due to his own personal efforts, now owns and deals extensively in real estate in Forty Fort and Wilkes-Barre, and is also engaged in building tenant houses. He was married March 18, 1850, to Lydia E., daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Dreher) Pugh, natives of Stroudsburg, Pa., and of American and German lineage respectively. This union was blessed with six children four of whom are yet living, viz.: Mary L. (Mrs. T.B. Montanye, of Wilkes-Barre); Samuel K., wholesale dealer in dressed meats, Pittston; Emma, married to George N. Lewis, of West Pittston, engaged in the butchering business; and Hattie M., who married Charles G. Lewis, grocer, Pittston. Mr. and Mrs. Lemuel A. Barber are active members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he is trustee, steward and class-leader. In his political views he was formerly a Republican, but is now in sympathy with the Prohibition party, and has been a member of the borough council in Forty Fort.
JOHN L. BARNES, proprietor of "Barnes Hotel," Wilkes-Barre, was born in Swansea, Wales, July 25, 1849, and is a son of John and Mary (Ford) Barnes. He was reared in England, educated in the public schools, and in 1866 came to America, locating at Scranton, Pa., where he remained two years employed about the mines. In 1868 he removed to Plymouth, this county, where he worked in the mines till 1877. After an absence of seven years in the South and West - six of which were spent at Phoenix, Ari., where he was foreman of the Vulture Gold Mines - he returned to Plymouth, and embarked in the hotel business, in which he has successfully continued, since 1889 in Wilkes-Barre. In 1877 Mr. Barnes married Mary, a daughter of David and Sarah Davis, of South Wales. He and his wife attend the services of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., and Encampment, and A.O.F., K. of M.C.; he is a Republican.
DELBERT BARNEY, M.D., a prominent young physician of Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city November 29, 1859, and is a son of John C. and Elizabeth (Vandemark) Barney. His paternal grandparents, Miles and Mary (Wade) Barney, pioneers of Wilkes-Barre, were of Connecticut stock. Our subject is the youngest of the four children born to his parents, and was left an orphan at four years of age. He was reared in Wilkes-Barre by his grandfather, and received his education in the high schools, and at LaFayette College, where he was graduated in 1884. In the same year he entered the Medical Department of the University of Pennsylvania, at Philadelphia, and was graduated in 1887. After spending one year in hospital practice in the City Hospital, Wilkes-Barre, he, in 1888, opened an office in that city. The Doctor is a member of the Luzerne County Medical Society. In politics he is a Republican.
PAUL BARRALL, manufacturer of and dealer in lumber, West Nanticoke, was born in Northampton county, Pa., March 15, 1850, and is the eldest in the family of six children of Reuben and Livana (Silvious) Barrall, also natives of Pennsylvania. Mr. Barrall was reared and educated in his native county, and at an early age engaged in lumbering, which he has made the chief occupation of his life, being at present one of the successful and best known dealers in lumber in eastern Pennsylvania. In 1886 he established at West Nanticoke his present business, which consists of a modern planing and finishing-mill, in connection with a retail lumber yard. Mr. Barrall is a self-made man, and his success is due entirely to his own efforts from the very commencement of his business career. He was united in marriage, February 20, 1873, with Miss Mary E., daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Liedick) Louden, natives of Pennsylvania, and to them have been born eight children, as follows: Aning J., Minnie V., Arthur D., Mary J., Myrtle L., Thomas R., Carrie W. and Erma C. Socially Mr. Barrall is a member of the American Mechanics, and in politics he is a Republican.
CHARLES J. BARRETT, physician and surgeon, Pittston. Among the eminently successful medical men of Luzerne county none have attained greater distinction in the calling than the gentleman whose name appears at the opening of this sketch. He is not only known as a physician of skill and ability, but has been brought prominently before the literary world as a clever and able writer both of prose and poetry. He was born in County Mayo, Ireland, May 4, 1858, and is a son of John and Ann (Mannion) Barrett, also natives of County Mayo, who came to America in 1869 and settled in Pittston, where the father engaged in mercantile business. Charles J., who is the sixth in a family of seven children - five boys and two girls - until the age of fiteen years attended the public schools of Pittston. At that period of his life, not unlike most boys in the coal region, he began an apprenticeship at the mines, where he received the rough schooling that is taught to those unfortunate lads who are deprived of the advantage tendered children in other localities; but this sort of training awakens in many a desire to throw off the chains that bind them to ignorance, and seek that education and knowledge attained by others. Such was the case with our subject, and at the time of his service about the mines he was improving all his spare time by devoting it to study, so that at the age of nineteen, by constant perseverance and study, he became competent to teach, and for the following four years was principal of the Oregon and Welsh Hill schools. In 1882, while teaching, he was appointed to a responsible and lucrative position in the adjutant-general's office, Washington, D.C., where he served to the entire satisfaction of the department for five years. While acting in this capacity he took advantage of the opportunities offered to receive a higher education, and therefore entered the Columbian University taking a classical and medical course, and graduating in 1887. In August of the same year he resigned his position at Washington, and returned to Pittston, where he at once began the practice of his chosen profession, and soon built up a large and lucrative practice. In 1887 the Doctor was appointed member of the pension examining board, and is still serving as such. He takes an active part in politics, and is an untiring worker in the Republican ranks. In fighting the cause of his party, however, he always meets his opponent in a fair open fight, and does not "shuffle" or take any of those mean advantages known in present day politics.
EDWARD BARRETT, merchant, Plains township, P.O. Hudson, was born in County Mayo, Ireland, and is a son of William and Honora (Mangan) Barrett, the former of whom was a fisherman. They reared a family of seven children, two of whom are living, and Edward is the fourth. Our subject came to America in 1846, and located at Carbondale, Pa., where he worked in the mines eight years; then moved to Mill Creek, and there worked in the mines eighteen years, and one year afterward at Laflin, outside. He built his present residence and place of business and removed therein in 1887. Mr. Barrett was married January 21, 1850, to Catherine A., daughter of Andrew and Bridget (Meehan) Kennedy, natives of County Mayo, Ireland, and they had born unto them sixteen children, eight of whom are living, viz.: William B., James, Andrew P., Mary E., Dora T., Edward L., Joseph T.R., and John C.A. Mr. Barrett and family are members of the Catholic Church; politically he is a Democrat.
FRANK BARRETT, miner, Port Griffith, was born in his present residence, July 27, 1856, and is a son of John and Winneford (Burk) Barrett, natives of County Mayo, Ireland. The father, who was a school teacher, reared four sons, of whom Frank is the only survivor. After the death of the father the mother married Michael O'Hara, by whom she had three children, of whom John is living. Our subject received a common school education, and at an early age began working about the mines, which he has since followed, including two years fire bossing and twelve years mining. Mr. Barrett was married February 7, 1888, to Miss Mary, daughter of Edward and Mary (Dillon) Dougher, natives of County Mayo, Ireland. They have two children, viz: Mary and Winneford. Mr. and Mrs. Barrett are members of the Catholic Church. He is a member of the A.O.H., and is a Democrat in his political views.
JAMES J. BARRETT, carpenter, Miners Mills, was born in Carbondale, Pa., December 8, 1854, and is a son of Edward Barrett, of Mill Creek. He began working about the mines at a very early age, drawing his first pay when he was six years and three months old; he has acted in every capacity about the mines, except foreman, and has worked at his trade for nine years; he built his present residence in 1888. Mr. Barrett was married July 22, 1876, to Miss Margaret, daughter of Patrick Kelly, of Miners Mills, and they have had seven children, five of whom are living, viz.: Rose M., Catherine V., Edward E., Marguerite A. and Dora. Mr. Barrett and family are members of the Catholic Church; he is a Democrat in his political views, but votes for the best candidates and the best principles, irrespective of party lines.
JOHN BARRETT, farmer, Newport township, P.O. Glen Lyon, is a native of Ireland, born February 6, 1826, a son of Edward and Mary (Lenard) Barrett, natives of County Meath, Ireland. Edward Barrett, who was a carpenter and wheelwright by trade, emigrated to this country when a middle-aged man, landing at Boston in August 1847, where he sojourned but a short time, however, coming from there to New York, where he died in 1855; his widow died in 1858. John Barrett, who is one in a family of ten children, was reared in Ireland, receiving a public-school education, and in 1852 came to America, landing at New York May 14. In New York he farmed on Eugene Levison's farm, known as the "Tiralove Estate," for one season, and worked in different places throughout New York State until 1865 when he came to Pennsylvania. He was foreman for the Collings Brothers in the constructing of the Lehigh Valley Railroad between Wilkes-Barre and Fairview, for about two years; he then came to Newport township, this county, where he has since resided. He commenced in the mines, which occupation he followed for a number of years, and then came on the old Vendermaker farm, on which he remained eighteen years. In 1853 he was married to Bridget, daughter of Patrick and Mary (Leegan) Carrell, and to this union were born thirteen children, of whom seven are now living. Mr. Barrett is a member of the Roman Catholic Church; politically he is a Democrat and has held the office of tax collector of Newport township for two years. John Barrett is one of the pioneers of Glen Lyon, and took a leading part in its advancement and its growth in many ways, such as giving right of way for Main street through his farm. He collected and contributed largely for the construction of St. Dennis Church.
OLIVER W. BARRETT, farmer, Huntington township, P.O. Cambra, was born February 14, 1859, in that township. He is a son of Dr. W.E. and Harriet (Fellows) Barrett, natives of Pennsylvania, and of Irish and English origin respectively. Dr. W.E. Barrett died April 15, 1873, aged forty-eight years. He was a son of John and Margaret (Reed) Barrett, natives respectively of Maryland and Pennsylvania, and of Irish and Scotch origin, respectively; the father, a carriage builder by trade, was a soldier in the war of 1812; he died in 1870, aged seventy-seven years. Our subject is the second in order of birth in a family of six children, three of whom are living. He was educated in the common schools, the Columbus Academy, Wyoming Seminary, Mt. St. Mary's college, in Maryland, and studied medicine; he spent two years at Ann Arbor (Mich.) Medical College, when, owing to failing health, he was obliged to give up his studies and has since devoted himself to farming. His property is one mile east of Cambra postoffice, and contains fifty-four acres. Mr. Barrett was married, March 9, 1884, to Miss Emma, daughter of Gideon and Loranda (Brittian) Post. This union was blessed with two children, one living, William E., born February 14, 1885. Our subject is a member of the P. of H., and politically is a Democrat.
BARTHE'S WEEKLY STAR, a literary and news journal, published every Thursday by E.T. Barthe; size 31X44, eight pages, seventy-five cents a year. The Star was established in December, 1869, by an association composed of business men of Plymouth, known as the "Plymouth Publishing Company." It was placed in charge of Fred M. Wagner, of Philadelphia, a gentleman wholly inexperienced in newspaper work, who in four weeks, succeeded in running the new enterprise into the ground. The office then passed into the control of the present publisher, E.D. Barthe, who soon after purchased the plant, and revolutionized the character of the paper and the manner of carrying on the business. By persistent and well-directed effort, the paper was placed on a permanent basis, and from time to time improved until it now ranks among the best weekly papers of Northeastern Pennsylvania. It was started as a Republican newspaper, and for three years was conducted as such; but it finally ceased to be a political organ, assumed literary features, and became what it now is - a model family newspaper. In this respect it occupies a field wholly its own among the newspapers of Luzerne county, which no doubt largely accounts for the esteem in which it is held. The publisher, Edmund D. Barthe, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., September 7, 1829, and is a son of Gen. P.D. Barthe, in his day a prominent and well-known citizen, now deceased. He learned the printing trade in the office of the Doylestown Democrat, and in Philadelphia, and for years was employed in various offices in the Quaker City, as book, news and job printer. He ranked among the best known printers of the city, and finally rose to the position of foreman of the News, a daily paper now defunct. He was prominent among the old volunteer firemen of Philadelphia, and for years was one of the leading spirits of the American Engine Company. When the Civil war broke out, he enlisted in the Twenty-sixth Reigment Pennsylvania Volunteers, entering the service as sergeant, and coming out as captain, with a record for bravery of which any man might well be proud. In 1867 he came to Wilkes-Barre to accept a position on the Record, in which he remained until he assumed control of the Star. He has been an invalid for some time, but he bears his suffering with courage and patience, and takes as much interst in his paper now as when in full tide of health. In the editing and managing of the paper, Mr. Barthe is assisted by Mr. S.C. Ward, who for over twenty years has filled the position on the paper he now holds. Mr. Ward is a native of Wilkes-Barre, and was born in 1845. Originally a sketch writer for New York and Boston papers, he finally drifted into journalism, and is likely to remain in the harness during the remainder of his days.
AMOS ARTHUR BARTON, physician and surgeon, Plains, was born in Apalachin, Tioga Co., N.Y., February 22, 1849, and is the eldest son of Johnson J. and Catherine (Lane) Barton. He was reared on the farm, educated in the Corry High School, Wyoming Seminary, Syracuse University, and Louisville (Ky.) Medical College, where he graduated in 1876. He immediately thereafter located at Plains where he has since followed his profession with a marked degree of success. Dr. Barton was married May 29, 1877, to Miss Carrie A. Clinton, who was born in Newark Valley, Tioga Co., N.Y., July 27, 1848, daughter of George and Lydia (Brooks) Clinton, who were the parents of three children: Morris, Sarah and Carrie. Dr. and Mrs. Barton have two children: Milton A., born March 3, 1878, and Lydia R., born December 10, 1880. Mrs. Barton is a member of the Baptist Church, Dr. Barton of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he has been steward for fifteen years. He is a Master Mason; a member of the I.O.O.F. and Red Men; Luzerne County Medical Society and Pennsylvania State Medical Society. In politics he is a Republican.
SAMUEL TAYLOR BARTON, pharmacist, Plains, was born in Apalachin, N.Y., July 13, 1863, and is a son of Johnson and Catherine (Lane) Barton, natives of New York and of English and Irish origin respectively. His father, who was a farmer and drover, reared a family of ten children, of whom Samuel Taylor is the seventh. Our subject spent his boyhood on the farm and attended the common school. In 1880 he engaged as clerk in the drugstore of Barton & Stark, at Plains, where he remained until 1886, in which year he entered the Medical Department of the University of New York, passing his vacations in the drug business at Long Branch, N.J. He is a registered pharmacist in New Jersey and Pennsylvania. In September, 1891, Mr. Barton returned to Plains, and accepted the position of manager for O.B. MacKnight, druggist there. In March, 1892, he took the degree of M.D. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and in politics is a Republican.
WILLIAM H. BATES, miner, Duryea, was born in the County of Durham, England, October 13, 1849, and is son of Henry and Matilda (Cranston) Bates, natives of the same place, who reared a family of four children, of whom our subject is the youngest. He went to work in the mines about the year 1859, and came to the United States in the summer of 1873, settling in Scranton, where he lived until 1881, when he took up his residence in Duryea. Mr. Bates was united in marriage December 16, 1878, with Hannah J., daughter of George and Henrietta (Payne) Glover, natives of Westmoreland, England. Their union has been blessed with the following issue: William F., born June 3, 1880; John E., born August 10, 1882, and Mary J., born January 7, 1885. Our subject is a member of the Presbyterian Church, of the I.O.O.F., the A.O.U.W., and K. of M.S. In politics he is an adherent of the Republican party.
WILLIAM H. BATES, horse dealer, Parsons, was born in Washington, D.C., July 29, 1861, and is a son of William and Mary (Barenger) Bates, natives of Washington, D.C., and of New England origin. Mr. Bates came from Washington to Parsons, this county, in May, 1884, and engaged in the horse trade, which he has extensively carried on since, sometimes having on hand as many as thirty five horses. He generally buys his stock in the western States and ships them to the East. Mr. Bates is a stanch Democrat, always faithful to the cause of that party.
GEORGE W. BATEY, proprietor of the meat market at No. 324 East Main street, Plymouth, was born September 2, 1857, at Hartlepool, England, and is the ninth in the family of ten children of Atkinson and Elizabeth (Clousten) Batey, both also natives of England, the former born in the County of Durham, the latter in Northumberland, and of Scotch origin. Mr. Batey was educated in his native land, and the family came to America in 1870, locating at South Wilkes-Barre, this county, where they remained nine months, after which they removed to Plymouth, where, in 1871, the father of our subject established the meat business. Since the father's death in 1881, the business has been carried on by George W., who was a former partner. The neat brick block where his market and residence are located was recently built by the subject of this sketch, who has spared no pains in making it one of the finest and best markets in the borough. His many patrons are loud in their praises both as to the quality of his meats and the neat manner in which they are prepared for the cuisine. Mr. Batey was Married, April 8, 1879, to Miss Jennie, daughter of Thomas and Ann (Smiles) Fawcett, natives of Durham, England, and six children have been born to this union: Bessie, John A., Margaret, George F., Ethel and Helen. Mr. Batey is a Republican, and for three years has been councilman for Plymouth borough. For four years he has served in the National Guard of Pennsylvania. The family attend the Presbyterian Church.
ROBERT BAUR, editor and publisher, is the eldest son of the Rev. Frederick and Caroline (Hahn) Baur. He was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, and received a liberal education, learning the bookbinder's trade. In 1848 he emigrated to the United States, locating in Philadelphia, Pa., where he remained three years, working at his trade. In 1851 he came to Wilkes-Barre and established his present business, which he has continued in with marked success. In 1851 he purchased the Watcher, established in 1842, which he now publishes in connection with his son, Gustav Adolph. He also publishes the Council Chat, the organ of the Junior Order United American Mechanics; also a German paper devoted to the interest of the Musical Societies, called the Singers Gazette. Mr. Baur is also engaged in book-binding, doing an extensive business in that line, and he is largely interested in Wilkes-Barre and Luzerne county real estate. In 1854 Mr. Baur married Paulina, daughter of the Rev. Hassold, of Wurtemberg, Germany, and by this marriage he has had eight children, all of whom are deceased excepting Emily and Gustav Adolph, the latter of whom married Miss Kate Davis, and has one son, Robert Adolph. In his political views our subject is a prominent Democrat, and while he never would accept public offices, he has always taken a deep interest in the success of his party. Mr. Baur is one of the leading citizens of Wilkes-Barre; is the oldest editor in this part of the State, and the oldest living publisher and editor now residing in Wilkes-Barre.
JOHN BEACH, outside foreman, Harwood Mines. This experienced mine foreman was born in Lancaster county, Pa., February 18, 1855, and is a son of Amos and Anna (Crisp) Beach, also natives of Lancaster county. Our subject, who is the ninth in a family of thirteen children, was reared and educated at the place of his birth, and until he attained his majority worked on his father's farm. Finding agricultural pursuits too slow for his energetic nature, Mr. Beach turned his mind to railroading, and worked for five years as a brakeman on the Columbia & Port Deposit Railroad. In 1873 he came to Drifton, and ran a hoisting engine for Coxe Bros. & Co., remaining in the service of that company ten years. In 1884 he removed to Lattimer Mines, this county, and ran a hoisting engine there for one years, after which time he was given entire charge of machinery for A. Pardee & Co., in which position he remained three years. He then was given charge of a breaker as breaker-boss for one year, when he removed to Harwood Mines and took charge there as outside foreman, having now under his charge about 280 men. Mr. Beach is a genial, pleasant gentleman, not only in his social, but also in all business relations. He was married September 24, 1874, to Amanda C., daughter of Jacob and Mary (Weaver) Hartranft, natives of Berks county, Pa., and six children blessed this union, namely: Mary A. (deceased), Nettie May, Lizzie Frances, Harry, Flora and Prentis. In politics Mr. Beach is a Republican; he is a member of the K. of M. and P.O.S. of A. The family are members of the German Reformed Church.
JESSE BEADLE, a prominent and well known citizen of Luzerne county, residing at Shickshinny, was born in the County of Durham, England, January 25, 1825, son of John and Jane (Lowdan) Beadle. They came to America in 1830, and located at Pottsville, Pa., where the father was mine superintendent for years, and where he died; he had reared a family of thirteen children. Our subject was reared and educated in Schuylkill county; at the age of eleven years he began life in the mines, and since 1855, has been operator on his own account or superintending mines for others. He has been a resident of Luzerne county since 1856, at Nanticoke until 1861, and since at Shickshinny. His wife was formerly Anna Oldknow, of Schuylkill county, Pa., and by her he has seven children: J. Henry, Emma, Carrie, Bessie (Mrs. George Warren), George, Robert and Mary. Mr. Beadle and family are attendants of the Presbyterian Church. He is a member of the F. & A.M., a director of the First National Bank of Wilkes-Barre, and a Republican.
PATRICK A. BEATTY, miner, Plymouth. This experienced miner was born January 17, 1833, in County Mayo, Ireland, and is the second in the family of seven children of Charles and Kate (Conway) Beatty, also natives of Ireland. Our subject was educated in the place of his birth, and in 1864 he came to America, settling in Schuylkill county, where he was engaged in mining for about one year. He then came to Plymouth, Pa., where in 1866 he assisted in sinking the famous Nottingham Shaft, where, when it was completed, he began working as a miner, continuing as such until 1880, when he went West, locating near Denver, Colo., and there mined silver one year. In 1882 he returned to Plymouth, and resumed his old occupation at the Nottingham Shaft, where he has been employed ever since. Mr. Beatty was united in marriage February 11, 1858, with Miss Margaret, daughter of Michael and Ann (Fraley) Murry, natives of Galway, Ireland, which union has been blessed with four children, viz.: Charles, a resident of Olyphant, Pa., Michael, a resident of Wilkes-Barre; and Annie and Maggie, residing at home. The family attend the Catholic Church, and in his political preferences Mr. Beatty is a Democrat.
HON. ANDREW BEAUMONT was a son of Isaiah Beaumont, who was born 1757; son of William Beaumont 1725; son of Samuel Beaumont; son of Samuel Beaumont, 1657; son of William Beaumont, who came to Saybrook, Connecticut, 1635, where he married Miss Lydia Stanforth, daughter of Nicholas Stanforth, deputy governor of Massachusetts. William Beaumont, the father of Isaiah, settled in Lebanon, Conn., where he married Sarah Everett, of Windom, or Lebanon, and died August 22, 1812, aged eighty-seven years. Isaiah Beaumont was a Revolutionary soldier, having enlisted December 1, 1775, in Col. John Durkee's regiment; was at the siege of Boston, served with the army in New York and during its retreat across Jersey to Pennsylvania. His term of service expired just before the battle of Trenton; but he was among the few who volunteered for further service, and was in that fight and a short time afterward in the battle of Princeton, where he was severely wounded. Later, during the Revolutionary war, he was again in the service, on temporary duty, to repel an invasion in Connecticut. He became a pensioner, and in 1791 removed to Wyalusing Creek. The wife of Isaiah Beaumont was Fear Alden. Capt. Jonathan Alden, fourth son of John and Priscilla (Mullins) Alden, had four children, and Andrew, his eldest child, married Lydia Stanforth February 4, 1714, and they had eight children. They resided in Lebanon, Conn., and there Fear Alden, his daughter, married Isaiah Beaumont. Prince Alden, third son of Capt. John, and brother of Andrew, married Mary Fitch, who bore ten children. Prince Alden removed to the Wyoming Valley in 1772, and settled in Newport township; afterward removed to Meshoppen, Wyoming county, where he died in 1804. Isaiah Beaumont had four brothers, all of whom are said to have served in the Revolutionary army. William Beaumont, his brother, was a lieutenant in the fifth Regular Connecticut Continental Infantry, and retired January 1, 1873. He was a member of the Connecticut Society of the Cincinnati. Isaiah's brother Samuel had a son, William, who was a surgeon in the United States army, and became celebrated on account of his discoveries regarding the action of the stomach on various foods. He was erroneously supposed to have been a Frenchman. He was Hon. Andrew Beaumont's first cousin. Andrew Beaumont was born in Lebanon, Conn., in 1791, and came to Wilkes-Barre in 1808 (a mere youth of seventeen years) to obtain an education, and attended the Old Academy for several terms, paying his way by his labor, in the meantime. He soon became a teacher where he had before been a student, and for some time he and Garrick Mallery taught the old school, in the meantime reading law, and afterward he entered the office of Mallery as a law student. In January, 1814, he was appointed, by President Madison, collector of revenue, direct taxes and internal duties for the Twentieth Collection District of Pennsylvania, which included Luzerne county. This office he held until 1816, when he was appointed prothonotary and clerk of the courts of Luzerne county, which offices he held until 1819. In 1821 he was elected to the Legislature, and re-elected in 1822; in 1826 he was appointed postmaster at Wilkes-Barre, holding the office until 1832. During the latter year he was a candidate for Congress, for the District composed of the counties of Luzerne and Columbia. The candidates were Mr. Beaumont, Dr. Thomas W. Miner and James McClintock, Mr. Miner being a Whig, the other two Democrats. This was a noted campaign and triangular fight, spirited from the start, and toward the close very bitter. The District was thoroughly canvassed, big meetings and barbecues were held in every neighborhood; speaking and discussion, newspaper articles, pamphlets and every means possible were used by the candidates to stimulate their friends, seeming sometimes to inflame them to a degree that bordered on the dangerous. Mr. Beaumont was a poor young man fighting his way in the world against as strong a combination as, perhaps, was ever formed to repress the ambition of one whom the older heads regarded as, probably, a dangerous coming rival. Notably, the early strong men of the Valley were Old-line Federalists, while Mr. Beaumont was a man of the people, and a strong Jackson Democrat. As said, the campaign was a noted one, and in some respects was an episode in the political history of Luzerne county; the turning point that in the end brought forth the triumphant Democracy of this section. The election was over, and then came the long wait and eager interest to know the result, which was not ascertained to a certainty for more than a week, when it was offically announced that Mr. Beaumont's plurality was eighty-eight votes. He was easily re-elected to his second term in 1834. During his service in Congress, the celebrated contest of President Jackson against the United States Bank occurred, and Mr. Beaumont was a distinguished figure in upholding the hands of the President in this celebrated contest of opposition to the support of private institutions by the General Government. His constituents warmly sustained him in his course. He also opposed and steadily voted against the bill to distribute the surplus revenue among the States. His course in Congress brought him into the closest confidence with Presidents Jackson, Van Buren and Polk, Vice-Presidents King and Lewis Cass. He declined a renomination, and in 1840 was tendered, by President Van Buren, the appointment of treasurer of the United States Mint at Philadelphia, which he declined, believing that his services were more needed at home. In 1847 he was tendered the appointment, by President Polk, of commissioner of Public buildings and grounds for the District of Columbia, at that time an office of great responsibility, and requiring executive ability of a high order in the incumbent. He accepted this office, entering actively on his duties; but his nomination was rejected by the Senate, through the influence of Senator Benton, of Missouri, who opposed him on personal grounds. During the year 1849 he suffered from protracted illness, from which he partly recovered, but exposed himself in trying to extinguish a fire in Wilkes-Barre, and thus was sown the seed of disease which finally carried him off. However, during this year of illness he was elected, against his will, to the State Legislature. Enfeebled as he was, he repaired to Harrisburg and entered upon the discharge of his duties, apparently with the vigor that characterized his former live. He was the first man in the Legislature to propose the establishing of direct relations between the State and the General Government, and through his exertions and arguments the committee on federal relations was finally created; he was appointed chairman, and made the first report ever presented to the Pennsylvania Legislature on that subject - a State paper, so thoughful, strong and suited to the time that it may appropriately be called a "landmark in the history of the law-making of the country." In the young man's struggle for political recognition there is one remarkable peculiarity. It is charged by his firends, was believed by him, and is supported by some strong evidence, that for certain cliques or possible combinations, his coming and his stay were, for some accountable reason, not overwelcomed. Whether there was much in this or not it is not now important to dicuss, but, in writing of him at the time of his death, the eulogist felt constrained to say of one little circumstance of his life in substance as follows: "In early life it was Mr. Beaumont's desire to qualify himself for the practice of the law. At that period he had become a thorough classical scholar, and quitting his school for a more lucrative employment he enrolled his name as a student in the law office of Judge Mallery, and devoted every moment of his leisure to the acquisition of that profession. At the termination of the usual period of study, he was pronounced by a competent committee fully qualified for admission to the bar, but the presiding judge declined to admit him, alleging as the reason that his reading had not been pursued for what he deemed a necessary period in the office of an instructor. Mr. Beaumont and his friends always regarded this as a mere pretext, but it had the desired effect, and drove this bright young man from the profession." The writer continues and says: "We desire to cast no objectionable reflections, but justice, and the stern spirit of truth, demands that we should say that at this point was first exhibited that spirit of persecution, if not malevolence, which pursued Mr. Beaumont to his grave. Established interest and organized associations began to look at the young man evidently with doubt and apprehension. Of medium height, without being robust, of a muscular and compact frame, hazel eyes and strongly-marked features, a massive head (perhaps the largest ever seen in the Valley) crowned with raven hair, a mind with the largest capacity earnestly seeking the truth and fearlessly declaring it, he formed an object of terror to the practices on the patience of mankind of those who lived upon old impressions and old abuses. He was, as he afterward many times became, the victim of a cruel conspiracy. His subsequent career proved how noble an ornament he would have been to the community. With his stern love and practice of truth, how useful he might have been in that profession to mankind. Mr. Beaumont was one of the organizers of St. Stephen's Episcopal Church of Wilkes-Barre in 1817, and one of its first vestrymen; one of the founders of the Luzerne Bible Society, in 1819, and one of its first officers. About the time of his death one who knew him well wrote: "With a friend who could appreciate the force and depth of his remarks, the corruscations of wit, fancy, eloquence and pathos, adorned with wealth which his tenacious memory had extracted from classical and contemporary literature, would pour from his lips apparently unconscious of hours. In figure of speech, ready, trite and opposite comparisons, we never knew his equal." He was well-known for a period of forty years in Pennsylvania as a political writer, and his essays on economic subjects would fill volumes. He was married in 1813, at the age of twenty-two, with Julia Colt, second daughter of Arnold Colt, who was one of the most enterprising pioneers of the Wyoming Valley. Arnold Colt was born in Lyme, Conn., in 1860, and married Lucinda Yarington, by whom he had seven children. He was a son of Harris and Elizabeth (Turner) Colt, a grandson of Benjamin and Miriam (Harris) Colt, who was a son of Harris, who was a son of Benjamin, who was a son of John, born in Hartford, Conn., in 1658. The last named was a son of John Colt, of Colchester, England. Nearly all the Colt families of America are branches of this family. To Mr. and Mrs. Beaumont were born nine children, viz.: John Colt, William Henry, Andrew B., Eugene B., Elizabeth Colt (who married Samuel P. Collins), Sarah Griswold (who married George W. Leuffer), Julia B. (who married Dr. Cyrus D. Gloninger, of Lebanon, Pa.), Eleanor B. and Hortense. Hon. Andrew Beaumont died in Wilkes-Barre September 30, 1853; his widow survived until October 13, 1872. Their eldest son, John Colt Beaumont, became a midshipman in 1838; and he died, in 1882, a rear admiral in the United States navy.
LIEUT.-COL. EUGENE B. BEAUMONT was born August 2, 1837, in Wilkes-Barre, and was the youngest son of Hon. Andrew Beaumont and Julia A. Colt, his wife. Col. Beaumont received his appointment to West Point through Hon. Henry M. Fuller, and graduated in May, 1861. The first class that year made application to graduate in April, in order that they might join the army at once, to be among the first to strike a blow for the Union. On April 29, 1861, the superintendent of the Military Academy was ordered to have the first class examined and graduated as soon as practicable. Upon graduating, young Beaumont was appointed second lieutenant, first Cavalry, and was detailed to drill volunteers at Washington, D.C. During the first battle of Bull Run he was aide-de-camp to Gen. A.E. Burnside, and was highly complimented in the report of that officer. During 1861 and spring of 1862 he served with the army of the Potomac as aide-de-camp to Gen. John Sedgwick on the Upper Potomac, the Shenandoah Valley, and on the Peninsula. Disabled by typhoid fever, he was compelled to quit the field. During the winter of 1862-63 he was aide-de-camp to the general-in-chief, Major-Gen. H.W. Halleck. In May, 1863, he rejoined the army of the Potomac at his own request, and was ordered to report to Major-Gen. John Sedgwick commanding the Sixth Army Corps, as captain and aide-de-camp, and served with the army during the campaign of Gettysburg, participated in the battles of Rappahannock Station, Mine Run, Wilderness, Spottsylvania Court House, and Cold Harbor. After Gen. Sedgwick's death Beaumont was ordered by Gen. Grant to report to Gen. J.H. Wilson, commanding the Third Cavalry Division, army of the Potomac; was in the battle of White Oak Swamp and all the operations and fights of the division around Richmond, in the raid for the distruction of the Danville & South Side Railroad, the campaign against Early in the Shenandoah Valley. In October, 1864, Beaumont accompanied Gen. J.H. Wilson to Nashville, and was appointed assistant adjutant-general of the Cavalry Corps of the Military Division of the Mississippi. He was actively engaged in the organization of the corps, and highly complimented for his efficient services. He participated in the battle of Nashville and in the pursuit of Hood; the fight at Hollow Tree Gap, Richland Creek, Little River, Pulaski, and in other skirmishes. He was with his corps in its march through Alabama and Georgia, taking part in the battles of Montevallo, Ebenezer Church, storming of Selma, capture of Montgomery, Columbus, and Macon, Ga. This march was one of the most brilliant and successful of the war. He received Jefferson Davis at Macon, on his arrival as a prisoner after his capture by Col. Pritchard, and remained on duty at Macon until November, 1864. In April, 1866, he took cammand of Troop A, Fourth Cavalry, at San Antonio, Texas; was engaged in scouting and other duties; commanded a battalion of four troops in the fight at Palo Duro Canon, September 28, 1874, Red River, which resulted in the destruction of numerous camps, and the capture of 1,700 horses and mules, and the defeat of a band of Comanches. He was on duty at West Point as instructor of cavalry from March, 1875, to September, 1879; was promoted Major Fourth Corps, November 12, 1879, and joined McKenzie's expedition against the Uncompagree Utes, at Fort Garland, where he took cammand of the cavalry. In 1882 he organized and led a second expedition into the Uncompagree country; subsequently served at Fort Wingate, New Mexico, Fort Bayard, N.M., commanded Fort Bowie, and Huachuea Arizona. In October, 1888, was detailed as acting inspector-general, Depot of Texas, and served there until February 1, 1892. He was promoted to lieut.-colonel of the Third Cavalry January 14, 1892. He was placed on the retired list as his own request May 6, 1892, and now resides in Wilkes-Barre, his native place. His grandfather, Isaiah Beaumont, was a Revolutionary soldier. His brother, William Henry Beaumont, served in the war with Mexico, and his brother Admiral John C. Beaumont, was in the United States Naval Service. During his active service, Col. Beaumont was in over thirty engagements and pitched battles. He was appointed major and adjutant-general of volunteers October 20, 1864. Brevetted lieut.-colonel of United States Volunteers, for gallant and meritorious services during the campaign in Tennessee; brevetted colonel of United States Volunteers for gallant and distinguished services in battle and capture of Salem; brevetted, in Regular Army, captain for gallant and meritorious services at the battle of Rappahannock Station, Virginia; brevetted, in the Regular Army, major for gallant and meritorious services at the battle and capture of Selma (two battles for this); brevetted, in the Regular Army, lieutenant-colonel for gallant and meritorious services during the war. Col. Beaumont was married September 8, 1861, with Miss Margaret Rutter, daughter of Nathaniel Rutter, of Wilkes-Barre, and they had four children: Natalie Sedgwick, married Gen. George Forsyth, U.S. Army; Hortense Darling, married Lieut. Charles Pinckney Elliott, Fourth United States Cavalry; Eugene B., a law student in Philadelphia, and Andre Alden, a student in Yale College. The mother of this family dying April 22, 1879, Col. Beaumont was remarried, this time in Philadelphia, December 20, 1883, with Miss Maria Lindsley Orton, daughter of Dr. Milton Pardee Orton, of Lawrencevile , Pa. Her father was a graduate of Yale College, and died in 1865 while a volunteer surgeon in charge of Hatteras Inlet. She is a member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and of the Episcopal Church. Col. Beaumont is a member of the Loyal Legion, Sons of the Revolution, Society of the Army of the Potomac, Society of the Sixth Corps, and the G.A.R. In politics he is a Democrat.
ADMIRAL JOHN COLT BEAUMONT was born at Wilkes-Barre, Pa., August 27, 1821, and was appointed acting midshipman, U.S. Navy, March 1, 1838. During his career in the navy he circumnavigated the globe, and had a happy faculty of describing his adventures by land and sea. He became eminent as a skillful and bold seaman, one of the best in the navy. "By his bravery, bonhommie, coolness under fire, and his pleasant companionship in times of peace, he won for himself a host of friends. His jokes and pranks would fill a volume, and his quick and ready wit was always at command. At the same time he was a thorough sailor, and a strict disciplinarian," writes one of his warm admirers. During 1866 and 1867 he had the distinguished honor to command the celebrated double-turreted Monitor "Miantonomah," and took her safely to Europe and back without accident. The ship was everywhere received with special honors. Admiral Beaumont was twice married. His first wife, Fanny, daughter of the Rev. John Dorrance, of Wilkes-Barre, was a woman of rare beauty and intelligence. Many years after her death he married, in 1874, Fanny King, of Washington, D.C., who survived him. Three children were born of this marriage: Ethel Agnes, Ammen and John Beaumont, now living in Hagerstown, Md. Records of Service: Commodore J.C. Beaumont, appointed acting midshipman, March 1, 1838; sloops-of-war "Ontario" and "Erie," 1838-40; frigate "Constellation" during her cruise around the world, 1840-44. Promoted to passed midshipman, 1844; sloop-of-war "Jamestown," coast of Africa, acting master, 1844-46; ship-of-the-line "Ohio," West India squadron, 1846; at the fall of Vera Cruz; frigate "Columbia," 1847, acting lieutenant; Naval Observatory, Washington, D.C., 1848; razee "Independence," Mediterranean squadron, master and acting lieutenant, 1849-52. Promoted to lieutenant in 1852; Naval Observatory, 1852-54; U.S. steamer "San Jacinto," on the coast of Europe and the West Indies, 1854-55; frigate "Potomac," Home squadron, 1856; steam-frigate "Wabash," Home squadron, 1857; receiving-ship at New York, 1857-58; steam-sloop "Hartford," East India squadron, China Sea, 1859-60; sloop-of-war "John Adams," executive-officer, 1860-61 lieutenant-commander, commanding U.S. steamer "Aroostook," North Atlantic squadron, 1862; was an active participant in the engagements with the enemy batteries in the James river and at Fort Darling, in May, 1862. Promoted to commander, 1862; commanded the steam-gunboat "Sebago," South Atlantic squadron, 1862-63; commanded monitor "Nantucket," 1863, in various engagements with the rebel fortifications in Charleston harbor, and took a leading part in the capture of Fort Wagner; commanded U.S. Steamer "Mackinaw," 1864-65, in the North and South Atlantic squadrons; participated in all of the attacks on Fort Fisher, where his vessel was badly cutup by the enemy's shell, and though signaled that he could retire from the action declined to do so; participated in all of the subsequent engagements with the rebel batteries on the Cape Fear river; commanded the iron-clad "Miantonomah," special cruise on the coast of Europe, 1866-67; retired in 1868. Restored to the active list in 1873, as captain; commanded the U.S. steamer "Powhatan," 1873-74, special service. Promoted to commodore in 1874; and from 1875 to 1879 was chief signal officer of the navy. November, 1881, he was promoted to rear admiral, and retired February 3, 1882 from active service after having served a tour as commandant at the Portsmouth Navy Yard. He died August 2, 1882, at Durham, N.H.
WILLIAM HENRY BEAUMONT, second son of Andrew Beaumont, was born in Wilkes-Barre, November 27, 1825, and read law with Charles Denison of that city. He served throughout the whole Mexican war, and was first sergeant of Company I, First Regiment, Pennsylvania Volunteers. In connection with M.B. Barnum he, in 1852, started the True Democrat, a strong Democratic newspaper, which existed about one year. He was a great reader, had a fine memory, and was one of the wittiest men in Wilkes-Barre. He was a delightful story-teller, and his humor was bright and sparkling; his powers of mimiery were admirable, and his hearty laugh contagious. His many friends hold his memory in the tenderest regard. He died in Wilkes-Barre June 19, 1874. He was never married.
CHARLES E. BECKER, farmer, P.O. Pittston, was born in Hessen, Germany, October 1, 1837, a son of Charles and Anna M. (Allebrand) Becker, both natives of the same place, the former born in 1807, the latter in 1803. They emigrated to this country in 1867, locating in Pittston borough, Pa., where they resided till their death, the father dying in 1869 at the age of sixty-two years, the mother in 1877 at the age of seventy-four years. They reared a family of five children, all of whom are dead but Charles E. Our subject, who is a street paver by occupation, was twenty-nine years old when he came to this country, and he made his home in Pittston borough, where his parents resided, till 1877, when he removed into the township, on a farm of 130 acres. His surroundings show him to be a hard working man of patient dispostion under adverse circumstances, and possessed of that German tenacity that says, "I will not give up. I must succeed." In 1866 he married, in Germany, Miss Anna M., daughter of George Trennkel, and there were four children born to them: Jacob, Mary, Elizabeth and Lena. They are members of the German Lutheran Church. Politically Mr. Becker is a Democrat.
JOHN J. BECKER, confectioner, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city August 15, 1856, son of John and Elizabeth (Miller) Becker. They were natives of Germany, and came to America in 1851, settling in Wilkes-Barre in 1853, where the father still resides. They reared a family of four children: Jacob, John J., Elizabeth and Mary (Mrs. Jacob Huether). Our subject was reared and educated in Wilkes-Barre. At the age of eight years he started in life as a breaker-boy at the mines, in which he continued five years, and at the age of fifteen was apprenticed to the confectioner's trade, serving three years, after which he worked as a journeyman seven years. In 1881 he embarked in business, as a member of the firm of Miles & Becker, which partnership existed up to August 19, 1891, since which time he has carried on the business alone, and is among the leading and popular confectioners of Wilkes-Barre. Mr. Becker was married October 18, 1882, to Cassie, daughter of John and Barbara Weaver, who were among the early German residents of Wilkes-Barre. By her he had five children: Flora, George (deceased), John, Louisa and Leon. Mr. Becker is a member of the St. Nicholas Catholic Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
LOUIS BECKER, butcher, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Hessen Darmstadt, Germany, January 13, 1851, and is a son of Henry and Pauline (Ruhlman) Becker. He was reared in his native country until fourteen years of age, one and one-half years of which time were spent at the butcher's trade. In 1865 he came to America, landing in New York, where he worked at his trade seven years. After spending four years at Honesdale, Pa., he, in 1876, located in Wilkes-Barre, and in 1880, embarked in business for himself, being now one of the popular marketmen of the city. In 1877 he married Dora, daughter of Daniel Long, of Wilkes-Barre, and has seven children: Henry, Louisa, Frances, Millie, Freda, Louis and Fred. Mr. Becker is a member of the German Lutheran Church, of the I.O.O.F., and K. of P. In politics is a Democrat.
JAMES F. BECKWITH, M.D., Plymouth. This prominent and successful physician was born near Pittsboro, Chatham Co., N.C., October 20, 1852, and is a son of Needham and Elizabeth (Atkins) Beckwith, also natives of North Carolina. The Doctor is the second in a family of eight children, was reared on a farm, and educated at Trinity College, North Carolina. His medical training was received at the University of North Carolina, medical department, and in the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Baltimore, Md. After completing his course at the last named place, he was retained as resident physician in the Woman's Hospital in 1891 and 1892. The Doctor then located at Washington, D.C., where he practiced for one year, at the end of which time he came to Philadelphia and took a course in the Polyclinic Institute. In August, 1884, he came to Plymouth, Pa., and has in the intervening years established here a large and lucrative practice. This genial gentleman was united in marriage November 10, 1887, to Bessie W., daughter of Dr. Robert L. and Winnie (Wilson) Payne, the former a native of Lexington, N.C., the latter of Virginian extraction. Two children have blessed this union, viz.: Robert Payne, born November 27, 1888, and Annie Atkins, born October 1, 1892. The family attend the Presbyterian Church. Our subject is a member of the Luzerne County Medical Society; politically he is a Democrat. As a physician, Dr. Beckwith has been eminently successful; as a citizen, he has the welfare of his country at heart; as a man, he is above reproach.
REV. JOSEPH W. BEDFORD, pastor of the Methodist Episcopal Church of White Haven borough, was born in Fulton county, Pa., December 5, 1850, a son of Hamilton and Mary Ann (Wilson) Bedford, natives of Maryland and Pennsylvania, respectively, and of Irish origin. They reared a family of six children, three now living, of whom our subject is the eldest. He was raised on a farm, educated in the common schools and by private tutor, and entered the ministry January 20, 1873, at Schellsburg, Pa., from which he went to the West Virginia Conference, where he preached two years in the Logan and Sandy Circuit, two years at Winfield, W. Va., three years at Milton, same State, where, under his charge, the "Bishop Morris" Memorial Church was built. He was then two years at Barboursville, W. Va.; two years at Sinclair, same State, at Deer Park, Md., for eighteen months, when he was transferred to the Central Pennsylvania Conference and sent to Woodbury, Pa., for two years, after which he preached two years at Snow Shoe, Pa., two years at Freeland, Luzerne county, and then on March 16, 1892, came to White Haven. Mr. Bedford was married August 17, 1871, to Mary C., daughter of James W. and Mary (Huff) Furlow, natives of Maryland, of Irish and German origin, the former of whom was a farmer by occupation. Mrs. Bedford was born April 5, 1850, the sixth in order of birth in a family of nine children. In 1888 Mr. Bedford was a candidate for the Legislature on the Prohibition ticket from Centre county, running ahead of the ticket; and he is still working for the Prohibition party.
DEEMER BEIDLEMAN, editor and proprietor of the Shickshinny Democrat, was born at Bloomsburg, Columbia Co., Pa., May 7, 1858, a son of Elisha B. and Sophia (Kurtz) Beidleman. He learned the printing trade in the Bloomsburg Republican office, was employed on Luzerne county papers as compositor and reporter until 1880, and then accepted the position of secretary of the Young Men's Christian Association at Scranton. After getting that organization out of debt, and reorganizing and putting it on a good, solid basis, he was called to East Albany, N.Y., where he remained two years, doing effective religious work among the employes of the Boston & Albany Railroad Company. From there he came to Wilkes-Barre, and took charge of Association work in that city, where he remained for over three years, resigning to accept a position on the Evening Leader. After a couple of months' journalistic experience, he received the unanimous call to the general secretaryship of the Corry (Pa.) Association, and from there he organized one of the best and most prosperous Associations in the State. But desiring to follow his chosen vocation - journalism - after eleven Consecutive years of successful Christian work, he resigned the Oil City secretaryship to accept the city editorship of the Oil City Daily Derrick, which position he creditably filled for over a year, and, having a wider field opened to him on the Pittsburgh dispatch, he moved to the smoky city, remaining for a few months; then returned to Oil City, and cast his fortunes with the Evening Blizzard, on which he remained until his return to his first love, Shickshinny. Here, for nearly two years, he held the position of foreman and assistant editor of the Mountain Echo. On March 31, 1892, the first number of the Shickshinny Democrat was issued by Mr. Beidleman, and the prosperity and success of the paper was insured from the start.
S.C. BEIDLEMAN, manufacturer of and general dealer in harness, Nanticoke, was born in Mifflinville, Columbia Co., Pa., December 4, 1863, and is a son of Samuel and Sarah (Millard) Beidleman, both natives of Pennsylvania, and descendants of early pioneers of that State. The mother was a daughter of Dr. Clement Millard, of Philadelphia, an assistant of the celebrated Dr. Rush, of that city. Our subject is the youngest in a family of five children, viz.: Tolinda, Mrs. R.W. Smith, of Mifflinville, Pa.; Lizzie, married to A.M. Hughes, of Lawrenceville; Ella, Mrs. Calvin Bennett, of Wilkes-Barre; Albert M., a merchant of Cambria, Pa.; R.W., lumber inspector for the Susquehanna Coal Company, at Nanticoke, Pa., and Samuel C. Our subject was educated in the common schools of Columbia county, and at the age of fifteen commenced an apprenticeship at the harness-maker's trade with A.M. Hughes, of Shickshinny, with whom he remained about a year and a half, when he went to Bloomsburg and completed his trade. He then moved to Mifflinville, and there followed the same business, until April 25, 1884, at which time he removed to Nanticoke and entered the employ of Frank Courtright, with whom he remained until September, 1889, and then engaged in business for himself at his present location. Mr. Beidleman was married September 16, 1888, to Miss Fanny I., daughter of Henry Fairchild, of Nanticoke. Our subject is a member of the F. & A.M., and his political views are Republican.
ABRAM BELLES, farmer, Buck township, P.O. Bear Creek, was born February 17, 1833, in Pocono township, Monroe county, and is a son of William D. and Rebecca (Sebring) Belles, both natives of Monroe county, Pa., of German descent. They reared a family of ten children of whom Abram is the third oldest. The father was a farmer, and Abram was raised on the farm, where he received a common-school education. When he was nineteen years old, he left home and came to buck township, Luzerne county, where he secured employment in the woods as a wood chopper, which occupation he followed until 1884, in that year purchasing the farm whereon he now lives. Though Mr. Belles never "served his time" at any trade, he is a mechanic of no mean ability; he built the house he now lives in and does all his own blacksmith work, building his own wagons, sleighs, etc. On March 29, 1860, Mr. Belles married Elizabeth, daughter of William and Caroline (Teter) Tucker. Mr. Tucker was of Irish and Mrs. Tucker of German descent. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Belles was blessed with six children, viz.: Roland, Edward and Alice (all marired), and William, Benjamin F. and Jennie; Jennie, the youngest, is at present engaged in teaching school in Buck township. Mr. Belles is a Democrat in politics, and has been secretary of the school board in his township since 1871; he has also been justice of the peace for three terms.
THOMAS BENEDICT (deceased) was born in Pittston, this county, December 2, 1816, and was a son of John Benedict, a resident of the same place, of English descent, and who was among the first settlers of Pittston. Our subject learned the trade of a blacksmith, at which he worked for many years, and then embarked in a general merchandise business, opening a store in Pittston. He was united in marriage February 22, 1866, with Sarah, daughter of Christian and Rosanna (Rissinger) Freiberger, natives of Germany, and their union was blessed with the following issue; Christiana, born January 12, 1867, married August 23, 1892; Ella, born January 23, 1870; Charlotta, born June 14, 1872; Sadie, born October 17, 1875; Rose, born November 24, 1877; Grace, born March 3, 1879. Thomas Benedict settled in Duryea in 1872, where in 1870 he had erected the house in which his family now reside, himself moulding the bricks of which it is built. He died on July 10, 1880. In his political preferences he was a Republican. He was a man of strictly temperate habits, and honest in all his dealings as a business man; was prosperous in all his business undertakings, and at his death he left his family well provided for.
SAMUEL BENNER, land surveyor, Conyngham, was born in Coventryville, Chester Co., Pa., October 8, 1816, and is a son of Henry and Anna M. (Benner) Benner. His paternal grandfather, Henry Benner, was a resident of Chester county, Pa., was a farmer by occupation, and born of German parentage. Henry, father of subject, was a native of Chester county, and was a blacksmith and farmer; he moved to Butler (at that time Sugar Loaf) township, this county, in 1825, and resided there until his death in 1847. His wife was a daughter of Daniel Benner, of Chester county, Pa., and his children were seven in number: Elizabeth (Mrs. John Scheidy), Samuel, Henry, Charles, Mary Ann (Mrs. John Washburn), Julia Ann (Mrs. Thomas Snyder), Barbara (Mrs. Henry J. Schleppy). Our subject was reared in Butler (formerly Sugar Loaf) township from nine years of age; was educated in the common schools and Wilkes-Barre Academy, and began life as a teacher in the winter of 1837-8, which vocation he followed fourteen winters, working during the summers in a sawmill. At thirty-one years of age he took up the profession of surveyor, which he has since followed. For five years he was in mercantile business at Hughesville, and four years at Beisel's Corners. In 1863 he located in Conyngham village, where he has since resided. In 1840 he married Susannah, daughter of Nicholas and Anna Maria (Guider) Buff, of Butler township, and by her he had four children: Anna M., Melissa J. (Mrs. William F. Fressler) and Louisa S. (twins) and Amelia F., who married Jacob D. Getting, and died in 1882. Mr. Benner is a member of the Reformed Church; was elected justice of the peace for a third term in Butler township. In politics he is a Republican, or rather independent.
CHRISTIAN BENNINGER (deceased) was born in Baden, Germany, in September, 1807, a son of Rev. John Jacob and Magdalena (Leimstoll) Benninger, who came to America in 1817, and in 1822 settled in what is now Black Creek township, this county. Here the father was pastor of the Lutheran Church fifteen years, and died May 26, 1852, in his sixty-seventh year. His children were three in number: Christian, Magdalena (Mrs. Frederick Crouse), and Sophia (Mrs. William Houseknecht). Our subject from fifteen years of age had been a resident of what is now Black Creek township, where he was engaged in farming about fifty years. He was twice married, his first wife being Rosina, daughter of Christian Weaver, of Columbia county, Pa., and by her he had children as follows: Sidney (Mrs. Joseph Singley), Sarah (Mrs. Samuel Bitler), John J., Elias, Phoebe, Rosina (Mrs. John Hufnagle), Louisa (Mrs. William Goss), Samuel F., Amanda (Mrs. Isaac Applegate) Christian E. and Eliza (Mrs. Daniel Mensinger). His second wife was Lydia, daughter of Henry Harger, by which union he had one daughter, Sophia (Mrs. Christian Crouse). Mr. Benninger died October 21, 1892. He was one of the oldest residents of Black Creek township; was a member of the Lutheran Church, and in politics was a Democrat.
WILLIAM G. BENNINGER, blacksmith, Ashley, was born in Auburn, Susquehanna Co., Pa., January 17, 1864, a son of James P. and Ann M. (Oliver) Benninger, natives respectively, of Meshoppen and Sheshequin, Pa. His mother's parents lived in her native town till she was three years old, and then went down the river on a raft, and lived in New Jersey twelve years, after which they returned to Meshoppen, where her father was a local preacher in the Methodist Episcopal Church. Our subject is a grandson of Adam and Lavina (Lawrence) Benninger, and of John and Maria (DeReamer) Oliver, of German-Scotch and Dutch-French origin, respectively. His father, who was a blacksmith, came to Ashley in 1871, and worked two years in the Lehigh Valley Shops at Wilkes-Barre, after which he established a shop of his own on South Main street, Ashley, building the present ship in 1887, to which has been added a wagon and paint shop. The homestead Residence was built in 1889. The family consisted of eleven children, eight of whom are living, viz.: Susan (Mrs. Robert Warborton), Maria (Mrs. Oscar Corey), Julia (Mrs. Francis J. Monahan), Elizabeth (Mrs. Abram Robinson), Flora (Mrs. George Warner), William G., James (a Methodist Episcopal minister at Harvey's Lake) and Angie (Mrs. Elmer Wenner) and Emma (deceased wife of Robert Powell). Our subject received a commmon school education, and then learned the trade of his father; he is now sole proprietor of the business. Mr. Benninger was married November 22, 1882, to Roxie J., daughter of John and Jane (Stull) Houser, natives of Pennsylvania, and of German origin. The issue of this happy union has been three children, viz.: Annie J., Lucy C. and William J. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. He is a member of the I.O.O.F. and K. of H., and a Republican in his political views.
E.F. BENNET, merchant, Plainsville, was born in Stevensville, Bradford Co., Pa., October 26, 1850, and is a son of Samuel and Adelia M. (Maxfield) Bennet, also natives of Pennsylvania, the former of English origin and the latter of German and Irish. He is a grandson of Ferris Bennet, who, as early as 1824, came from Connecticut to Stevensville, where he married Nancy Black, by whom he had twelve children, five of whom are living. The father of our subject, who was a farmer and contractor, reared a family of seven children, six yet living, and of them Edward F. is the third. Our subject was reared on the farm, educated in the common school, began life for himself at nineteen, and the next year taught school in Bourbon county, Kas. In the following year he came to Wilkes-Barre, this county, and engaged in the milk business, which he followed nearly five years, after which he was with J.C. Bandle & Co., of Cincinnati, Ohio, as commercial traveler in the State of Michigan for one and a half years. He then embarked in the pressing of and dealing in hay in Bradford county, Pa., which industry he followed two years, at the end of which time he and a partner opened a shirt factory at Easton, Pa., which they operated one year. He then, along with his brother, operated a threshing machine in Bradford county for one year; then came to Parsons, where, for four years and a half he was in the employ of the Delaware & Hudson Coal Company as ticket-boss; after that he came to Plainsville and commenced in his present business. He has also dealt very extensively in hay, grain, flour and feed, in company with C.M. Felter, of Miners Mills. Mr. Bennet owns real estate in Parsons and Plainsville. He was married, June 6, 1884, to Miss Lillie, daughter of Columbus and Ann E. (London) Green, natives of Pennsylvania, and of English origin. Mr. and Mrs. Bennet are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, of Parsons, of which she was organist for six years. He is a member of the F. & A.M., the I.O.O.F. and Encampment and the I.O.R.M. While his political views are in sympathy with the Republican party, yet Mr. Bennet is strictly an independent voter.
JOHN RALPH BENNETT, passenger conductor on the Central Railroad of New Jersey, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Steubenville, Ohio, June 23, 1850, and is a son of John and Mary (Nolan) Bennett, natives of County Limerick, Ireland, whence they emigrated in 1846 and located in Ashabula, where his father died in 1856; his mother died in Ashley, May 6, 1889. His father was a sub-contractor; reared a family of six sons, viz.: Patrick H., a contractor in Fairmount, W. Va.; Daniel, a contractor in Greensburg, Pa.; John R.; James, also a contractor in Greensburg; Thomas (who was killed by the explosion of a stationary boiler at Duke Centre, McKean Co., Pa., September 6, 1880, at the age of twenty-four years), and Joseph, who is clerking in his brother James' store at Greensburg. Our subject's education was obtained by self study, and that chiefly after he had reached manhood, but he has made it quite sufficient to attend to all business affairs. When he embarked in life for himself he worked at railroad grading at Oil City, Pa., one year; then drove a team at Meadville one and a half years, and at Pitt Hole six months; afterward broke stone at Parker's Landing, on the Allegheny Valley Railroad, six months; struck on a drill at Sebellersville, Md., one and a half years and at Tuscarora, Schuylkill Co., Pa., three months. In 1869 he came to Ashley, where he was brakeman on the railroad one year and four months; then was a conductor on coal and freight trains until May, 1888, when he was promoted to his present position and runs on the Mountain Park train during the summer season. Mr. Bennett was married June 23, 1871, to Miss Margaret, daughter of William and Mary (Conyngham) Wood, natives of Bruff, County Limerick, Ireland, whence they emigrated when single. The issue of this union was nine children, six of whom are living: Marguerite L., Thomas J., John, William, James and Patrick Henry. Mr. Bennett and his family are members of the Catholic Church; he is a member of the O.R.C. and the R.P.C.B.S., of Jersey City; politically he is a Democrat.
LYMAN HAKES BENNETT is the son of Phineas L. and Minerva Hakes Bennett, and was born in Harpersfield, Delaware Co., N.Y., in 1845. Phineas L. was born in 1806, and died in 1892. He was the second son of Isaac Bennett, who was a son of Alden Bennett, who was born in Rhode Island in 1754. Minerva Hakes Bennett, who is still living, is the daughter of Lyman Hakes, late of Harpersfield, whose father was George S. Hakes, a son of George Hakes, Sr., who was the oldest son of Solomon Hakes, who was born in 1688, and settled in Westerly, R.I., in 1709. Lyman Hakes Bennett lived in Harpersfield until 1866, when he accepted a position as accountant in the United States Treasury Department at Washington, D.C., which he held until 1872, in the meantime entering the Law Department of Columbia College, and graduating therefrom. In 1872 he came to Wilkes-Barre, was admitted to the Luzerne county bar, and has since followed the profession of the law. In 1891 he was the candidate of the Republican party for the office of additional law judge, but was defeated at the polls by the Hon. John Lynch, the present incumbent of that office. In 1874 Mr. Bennett married Miss Ella N. Robbins, of Wilkes-Barre, and they have but one child (a daughter, Lilian) living, their elder daughter, Anna Minerva, having died in March, 1887, at the age of thirteen years.
R.E. BENNETT, United States Attorney and Claim Agent, Pittston, was born in Bradford county, Pa., September 24, 1845, a son of Levi and Cornelia J. (Baker) Bennett, both natives of Bradford county, where the father has lived since his birth; he is a farmer by occupation, and at present resides in Tuscarora township. The parents had a family of the following children: R.E.; Abia, deceased; Willis, proprietor of the Bennett Blue Stone Quarries, of Bradford county; Ann E., married to H.L. Sturdevant, a contractor and builder, of Binghamton, N.Y.; and Clara and Sarah J., both deceased. Our subject was born and reared on a farm and was educated in the common and academical schools of Bradford and Wyoming counties. On August 1, 1864, he enlisted in Company D, Two Hundred and Third P.V.I., and participated in the following battles, etc.: Chaffin's Farm, both expeditions against Fort Fisher, capture of Wilmington, Coxe's Bridge, the campaign against Richmond, and the surrender of Johnston. He was discharged in July, 1865, returned to Bradford county, then purchased a Farm and followed agriculture two years. He then sold his farm, removed to Wyalusing, and engaged in selling farm implements, in which business he continued in Wyalusing for two years; then removed to Silvara, and entered the agricultural implement business there, remaining until 1886. During the years 1876 and 1877 he was deputy sheriff of Bradford county. In 1886 he removed to Ransom, Pa., and took charge of the lumber business of G.F. Chamberlain at that place, remaining there until 1891, when he removed to Pittston and assumed control of the stone business of Mr. Chamberlain in that city. In 1889 he secured the appointment of United States attorney and Claim agent, and has been engaged in prosecuting pension and patent claims since that time, in which line he has been very successful. Mr. Bennett was married, April 11, 1866, to Fannie F. Lewis, daughter of Edwin Lewis, of Bradford county, and this union has been blessed with five children, viz.: Elsie, married to Will N. Winters, a farmer of Lackawanna county; Fred, residing with his parents; Nellie, deceased; Grace and Nellie J. Mr. and Mrs. Bennett are members of the Broad Street M.E. Church. He is a member of Valley Lodge No. 499, F. & A.M.; of Milwaukee Lodge No. 328, I.O.O.F., and of the Grand Lodge; of Lodge No. 212, K. of P., and of Encampment No. 296, P.O.S. of A. Politically he is a Democrat, and has filled the numerous town offices.
WILLIAM E. BENNETT, county auditor, Wilkes-Barre, was born in Jersey City, N.J., May 4, 1853, a son of Isaac W. and Martha J. (Cullmery) Bennett, both natives of New Jersey. He was reared in his native State and Pennsylvania, receiving a public-school and academical education, and at the age of eighteen began his business career as a clerk, which occupation he has since followed with the exception of five years he was brakeman and baggageman on the New York & Long Branch Railroad. He was married in November, 1882, to Isadore, daughter of John M. and Cinderella (Keller) Connor, of Wilkes-Barre, and has three children: Bruce W., Helen C., and Louise C. Mr. Bennett is a member of the Episcopal Church; was elected auditor of Luzerne county in 1887, and re-elected in 1890. In politics he is a stanch Democrat.
WILLIAM H. BENNETT (deceased) was born in Plains, January 19, 1837, the only son of one of the early settlers, and was related to the Shiffer family on his mother's side; on August 10, 1862, he joined at Wilkes-Barre Company A, 143rd P.V.I., as corporal; was wounded and taken prisoner at Gettysburg, but was paroled on the field, was promoted to second lieutenant, and was discharged June 17, 1865. He then returned to Plains, and in 1869 opened a blacksmith shop, where he worked till his death, which occurred March 3, 1888. He built the block in which his widow now resides, and removed therein in 1876. Mr. Bennett was married March 3, 1859, to Miss Elizabeth D., daughter of Solomon and Elizabeth (Hulsizer) Mill, natives of Pennsylvania and of German origin, which happy union was blessed with five children, viz.: Florence I., married to Wiley M. Moore, painter, Plains; George R., a cripple, living with his mother; William M., a driller, living in part of his mother's house, and married to Elizabeth Alexander, of Plains; Lizzie, married to William Masten, by whom she has two children, Mary and Frank; and Robert, who works for Evans Brothers, Plains. Mr. William H. Bennett was a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, the A.O.K. of M.E., the I.O.O.F., and G.A.R.; in politics was a Republican.
JOSEPH R. BENSCOTER, farmer, P.O., Reyburn, was born in Union township, April 16, 1821, where he was also reared and educated, and has never been out of his native township for more than a week at a time. He is a son of Isaac and Christine (Belles) Benscoter, the former a native of New Jersey, the latter of Newport township. Isaac removed with his father from New Jersey to Union township when he was sixteen years of age. He was one of the early pioneers of that township; he owned 300 acres of land, and did much during his life to bring it under the plough. He was a good, moral man, of quiet disposition and temperate habits. His family consisted of twenty-one children, by two marriages. He was descended from Dutch parents. He passed away in 1837, aged seventy-two years. Joseph R. Benscoter chose for himself a farmer's life, and has followed it all his days. He conducted the farm, on which he was born, for a few years on his own account, when in 1847 he bought a farm of 100 acres in its natural state, which he improved and brought under cultivation. Now he has fifty acres under the plough, a neat house, and a commodious barn, with pleasant Surroundings - all the result of his own hard labor. In September, 1843, he married Miss Susan, daughter of Walter and Mary Moore, and to them have been born seven children, five of whom are living: Esther A., Jacob H., Mary A., Geraldine A., and George A., all married, as follows: Esther A. married William S. Fink; Jacob H. married Miss Margaret Wendle; Mary A. married E. Harrison; Geraldine A. married W.R. Kocher; George A. married Miss Ann Rude. Mrs. Benscoter was born in Union township July 17, 1821. Our subject has held several township offices with much credit to himself and those who elected him. He and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
J.W. BENSCOTER, a well-known grocer of Wilkes-Barre, was born in Union township, this county, April 21, 1854, a son of Warren and Clarinda (Ide) Benscoter. His paternal grandfather, Abram Benscoter, with four brothers, all natives of Holland, settled in Union township in the latter part of the eighteenth century; he was a farmer, reared a large family of children, and resided in the township the remainder of his days. Warren Benscoter, father of subject, and also an agriculturist, was born August 2, 1814, in Union township, where he died in 1883. He was twice married; first to Abigail Dodson, by whom he had six children: Samantha (Mrs. G.M. Larned), Abigail (Mrs. John E. Watson), Lila (Mrs. Silas M. Masters), Gussie (Mrs. J.K. Torbert), Crawford L. and Hiram W. His second wife, Clarinda, was a daughter of William and Hannah Ide, of Lehman township, and by her he had five children: William I., C.C., J.W., Hattie I. (Mrs. W.W. White), and C.A. Our subject was reared in the old homestead in Union townshp; was educated at Wyoming Seminary, Kingston, and at Dickinson Seminary, Williamsport. He began life as a clerk in a general store, following that occupation until 1887, and has been a resident of Wilkes-Barre since 1883. He embarked in the grocery business for himself in Wilkes-Barre, in which he has successfully continued since. On November 22, 1882, he married Sallie A., daughter of J.J. and Ruth (Kester) Robbins, of Wilkes-Barre, and has two children, Ruth and Margarita. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and politically is a Republican.
STEWART BENSCOTER, farmer, P.O. Bloomingdale, was born in Union township, January 12, 1831, a son of Isaac and Christinana (Belles) Benscoter. The Benscoters were formerly from New Jersey. Isaac Benscoter settled and lived in Union township between Shickshinny and Muhlenburg, where he was a prosperous farmer, owning 200 acres of land. He was a stirring man, possessed of good judgment, sterling qualities with plenty of ambition and push - a trait cropping out in his descendants. He died in 1840 at the age of sixty-five years. His family consisted of seven children, all of whom grew to maturity, four of them now living, Stewart being the sixth in order of birth. Our subject was reared and educated in Union township, and chose for his life-work the occupation of a farmer - a calling he has indeed perfected himself in. He owns a neat place of seventy-five acres, which, under his skillful hand, has become a model farm, for he is practical in all he undertakes. In 1857 Mr. Benscoter married Miss Esther, daughter of David and Sarah Rood, and to this union were born two children, one of whom is living, Sarah A. Mrs. Esther Benscoter was born in Huntington township. Mr. Benscoter is a consistent member of the M.E. Church; politically, he is a Republican.
CHARLES BERGOLD, butcher, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city July 16, 1852, and is a son of John T. and B. Christiana (Ippich) Bergold, natives of Germany. His father settled in Wilkes-Barre in 1840, and opened a meat market, which he conducted up to his death, which occurred April 3, 1872. He reared a family of eleven children: John, Jacob, Margaret, Catherine (Mrs. Frank R. Stone), Charlotta (Mrs. Charles Broadhun), Charles, Mary, Anna, Henry, Christian and Herman. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre, educated in public and private schools, and at the age of twenty succeeded to his father's business, which he has since successfully continued. He married in 1881, Margaret, daughter of Matthew and Maria Weir, of Plymouth, and has two children: Florence and Ada. Mr. Berfold is a member of the Memorial Presbyterian Church; in politics he is a Democrat.
CHRISTIAN I. BERGOLD, butcher, Wilkes-Barre, was born in that city, May 8, 1863, and is a son of John T. and Barbara C. (Ippich) Bergold. (See sketch of Charles Bergold.) He was reared and educated in his native city, where he learned the butcher's trade, and worked as a journeyman seven years. On March 28, 1887, he embarked in business for his own account, and has built up an extensive trade. He is a member of the First Methodist Episcopal Church; politically, he is a Democrat.
REV. MICHAEL J. BERGRATH, pastor of St. Patrick's Catholic Church, White Haven, was born April 4, 1857, a son of Theodore and Mary (Henricks) Bergrath, natives of Muenstermaifeld, Germany, and Cologne, respectively. Theodore Bergrath came to America in 1842. He reared a family of six children, two of whom are now living. Our subject, who is the youngest in the family, was educated in the common schools and at St. Vincent's College, from which he graduated in 1873. He came to White Haven in 1874 as pastor of the St. Patrick's Catholic Church. His church was built in 1866, and has about six hundred members. Father Bergrath is Spiritual Advisor for the White Haven Branch St. Aloysius' T.A.B. Society, Young Men's Catholic Temperance Society, and E.B.A., Branch 45.
ARNOLD BERTELS, lumberman, Wilkes-Barre, was born at Hilltown, Bucks Co., Pa., July 3, 1834, and is a son of Jacob and Elizabeth (Wambold) Bertels. His paternal grandfather, Henry Bertels, was a native of Gottinger, Hanover, Germany, whence he came to America in 1804, and after residing in Montgomery county, Pa., four years, settled in 1808 in Richland, Bucks Co., Pa.; he was a drover as well as a farmer, and died near Quakertown, Pa., on the farm where he had lived about fifty years. Jacob Bertels, father of subject, was born in 1807 at Lansdale, Montgomery Co., Pa., and died at Quakertown, Bucks Co., same State, December 19, 1886, aged seventy-nine years. He was a resident of Luzerne county, Pa., from 1840 to 1863. Served in the Civil war, in three months' service as captain of Company D, Eighth Pennsylvania Infantry; then organized Company D, Ninth Regiment P.V.C., of which he was captain two years, when he resigned on account of disability. He spent five years in Germany for his health, and returned to Wilkes-Barre in 1870, remaining until 1875, when he removed to his father's farm near Quakertown, residing there until his death. Prior to the war he was proprietor of the "Old Wyoming House," and was also engaged in the mercantile and lumber businesses. His children were Elvira (Mrs. Sam Emery), Rebecca (Mrs. Fred Schrauder), Clementine (Mrs. Henry Brodhun), Isabella (Mrs. Henry Wilcox), Mary (Mrs. Abram Wildermuth), Magdalena (Mrs. James Brady), Henry, and John (killed in front of Petersburg, Va., in Civil war), and Arnold. Our subject was reared in Wilkes-Barre from seven years of age; educated in common schools and Wilkes-Barre Academy; from sixteen to twenty-two years of age assisted his father in store; purchased the business in 1857, which he conducted until 1872; then embarked in the real estate business, which he followed until 1880, and has since been engaged in lumbering. He married December 25, 1857, Adelia A., daughter of Zebulon C. and Ann (Rose) Stevens, of Wilkes-Barre, and has four children: Jennie H., Fannie L. (Mrs. D.A. Fell, Jr.), Helen A., and J. Zebulon. Mr. Bertels is a member of the Presbyterian Church; in politics is a Republican, and served as poor director of Wilkes-Barre five years.
ALBERT R. BERTRAM, farmer, P.O. Huntsville, was born in Plymouth, July 11, 1848. He is a son of Peter and Louisa (Ritzbaugh) Bertram, both of whom were born in Germany. They came to this country about 1842, both being young people. Mr. Bertram came to Plymouth and Miss Ritzbaugh went to Harrisburg. After a short time, finding that his other half could not be spared from his side much longer, Mr. Bertram, like all gallant lovers, hied himself to Harrisburg, where the twain were made one. Thus the Divine suggestion was acted upon "it is not good for man to live alone." They then moved to Plymouth where they dwelt in happiness for about fifteen years. Peter Bertram was a stone mason by profession, but, like most men, his life was uneventful. He was an industrious, honest man, and a good citizen. His family numbered eight children, five of whom grew to maturity and are now living. A.R. is the eldest of the family. He was reared and educated in Plymouth and Lehman, and has always followed farming. At the age of twenty-three, on November 2, 1872, he married Miss Emma, daughter of William and Clarissa (Ransom). By this union there were born to them nine Children, all of whom are living (1891): George, Joseph, Louisa, Charles, Leslie, Theodore, Clara, Ralph and Edna. He moved to his present place, a farm of ninety acres, known as the Ruggles farm, in 1877. Mr. Bertram is a thrifty farmer, always keeping abreast of the times. He has made many improvements on his place, some of which are a large barn, built in 1881, and an extension to same in 1890. He is a progressive man, and his improvements grow with him. In 1872 he built a large cider-mill with two presses, having a capacity of 6,000 gallons per day. Mr. Bertram is a self-made man, who made what he has with his own hands, if we except the help of a most estimable wife, and a companion meet for him, who is hospitable and entertaining. They are both consistent members of the Christian Church, believing in primitive Christianity; politically he is a Democrat.
WILSON S. BETTERLY, proprietor of the "Parlor Restaurant," Hazleton, was born January 23, 1847, at Town Hill, this county, fifth in the family of eleven children of Thomas and Elizabeth (Sisty) Betterly, natives of Columbia county. Our subject was reared in his native county, receiving his education in the common schools and at the New Columbus Academy. He began life as a railroader, working for three years on the Lackawanna & Bloomsburg (now the Delaware, Lackawanna & Western) Railroad. In 1868 he came to Hazleton and engaged in the meat business, which he followed for one year at Beaver Meadow; he was with Meixell & Weir two years, and then succeeded to the meat trade conducted by them. He carried on the business for a number of years, or until 1881, when he sold out and entered the employ of Linderman, Skeer & Co., for which firm he conducted a market at Stockton. With them he remained until the spring of 1891, when he removed to Hazleton and engaged with Seltzer & Bros. of Pottsville, extensive meat dealers, since when he has represented that company and is at present their general agent for this section of the country. In May, 1891, Mr. Betterly purchased the property known as the "Parlor Restaurant," No. 9 South Wyoming street, which he has fitted and modeled into a first class cafe, and where he caters to all the best trade in the town; he also has a bar, well-stocked with the choicest of liquors. Mr. Betterly was united in marriage, in 1873, with Susan A., daughter of Nathan R. and Ann (Hiks) Penrose, natives of Pennsylvania, to which union have been born three children, viz.: Anna, Harry and Nora. The family attend the Methodist Episcopal Church; politically Mr. Betterly is a stanch Republican; socially he is a member of the P.O.S. of A., Knights of Malta, and Royal Aracanum.
Back to Bios Index
Back to Luzerne County Genweb
These Bios were typed by Dalice.
1997-Present by Mary Ann Lubinsky for the PAGenWeb Project, and by Individual
Back To Luzerne Genweb