This page is hosted by Megan Clark Young, a Lawrence County resident and genealogist. This site is part of the PAGenWeb Project. Most of Megan's family has lived in what is now Lawrence County since 1802. The goal of this page is to help those researching in the county to find records that are not widely available online. Check back, as more content is frequently added.
If you have a question, please email me and I will do my best to point you in the right direction.

County History

Lawrence County was formed 20 March 1849 from parts of Mercer and Beaver Counties. Adjacent counties are Mercer County (north), Butler County (east), Beaver County (south) and Mahoning County, Ohio (west). The county seat is New Castle.

Lawrence County Map Because it was one of the last counties formed in the commonwealth, it is often necessary to understand the genealogy of the county and conduct research in a parent county for the appropriate time. This land was once the home of the Kuskuskie Tribe and the seat of the Ohio Valley Regency of the Six Nations of Central New York, better known as the Iroquois. The Commonwealth of Pennsylvania purchased the northwestern section of the state from the Six Nations as part of the Treaty of Fort Stanwix, 22 October 1784. Prior to this date, what is present-day Lawrence County was not included in any county of Pennsylvania.

This area was annexed as part of Northumberland County in 1785; included in the formation of Allegheny County, 24 September 1788; and incorporated into the formation of Beaver and Mercer Counties, 12 March 1800. The area was not settled in earnest until 1795-1800.
Many of the tracts in the area north and west of the Ohio and Allegheny Rivers were surveyed in 1785 as “Donation Lands.” Donation Lands were set aside to provide tracts to each Pennsylvania soldier and officer who served to the end of the Revolutionary War. These tracts ranged from 200-500 acres.

Lawrence County Township in Parent County Prior to 1849

Mercer County Pulaski Township Wilmington Township North Slippery Rock Township Mahoning Township Nashannock Township
Beaver County Slippery Rock Township North Beaver Township Little Beaver Township Shenango Township Wayne Township Perry Township North Sewickley Township

The townships of Scott, Washington, Plain Grove, Union, Taylor and Hickory formed after Lawrence County’s formation.


Lawrence County Courthouse
430 Court St., New Castle, PA 16101
Monday - Friday 8:00-4:00
Dual office of the Register of Wills and Recorder of Deeds – 724-656-2131
Prothonotary, Clerk of Courts, Clerk of Orphans Courts – 724-656-2126
Available Records: deeds, probate records, birth records, marriage records, divorce records, tax records, court records.
Genealogical searches will be conducted for $12 (certified check or money order only). All pertinent information and a self-addressed stamped envelope should be mailed Attn: Prothonotary.

Lawrence County Historical Society
408 North Jefferson St., New Castle, PA 16101
Tuesday, Thursayd, Saturday, 11:00 - 4:00 (by appointment)
Available records: Lawrence County will books, immigration records, cemetery records, marriage records, military records, deeds, tax records, county history, maps of the county from 1885-1931, city directories, local yearbooks, oral histories, photo collections.

New Castle Public Library
207 E. North St., New Castle, PA 16101
Monday 8:30-8:30; Tuesday-Sauturday, 8:30-5.
The History Room contains non-circulating items of genealogical interest. Available records: family histories, reference works, marriage and obituary database, microfilmed newspapers, city directories, church records, cemetery records, yearbook, maps, Nellie Siminton vertical family files. Library staff will do a limited search for a fee.

New Castle Public Library Newspaper Marriage and Obituary Index

Pennsylvania Historical & Museum Commission
801 N. 3rd St., Harrisburg, PA 17120
717-783-3281 br Appointment only







Like us on Facebook Facebook is a great place to post a query