Amish-Mennonite History (Continued)

Continued from Amish-Mennonite History by Carol Hepburn.

The Amish communities that were settled in the United States prior to 1870 were altered by the creation of several major Mennonite conferences. These conferences were called to help settle or unify the variing factions that made up the whole American Amish-Mennonite movement. In 1862-78, the Amish General Conference recognized the following branches or division within the order.

Old Order versus Progressive (1850-1880): The Old Order group resisted change the most out of all the Amish settlements in America. Little has changed from their initial emmigration to their current lifestyle today. The Progressive Amish Order organized three district conferences after 1882. They were Eastern Amish Mennonite; Indiana-Michigan Amish Mennonite; and the Western District Amish Mennonite. The Progressive movement later merged with the Mennonite Conferences and are now part of that branch of believers.

Conservative Amish Mennonite (1910): This group is inbetween the two others and was organized about 1910. Many congregations have been formed under this conference and are loosley tied together. No formal Conference has been established.

Evangelical Amish Mennonite and the Central Conference: The Alsatian-Amish groups in Illinios, Indiana and Ohio (1865-1875) formed this conference. They are now a part of the General Conference Mennonite Church.

The characteristics and practices that are most well-known as being "Amish" are only characteristic of the Old Order Amish.

To view popular Amish surnames, see Amish Surnames.

To read about Church of the Brethren (Dunkard), see Dunkard (Old Order Brethren).

Note: For more detailed information on the Amish Mennonites, please read the Mennonite Encyclopedia, Vol. I, A-C, pages 93-97, published 1956.


Return to the top of this page

This county is part of the USGenWeb Project, a non-profit genealogical resource web system, and is maintained by April Phillips and Connie Burkett with help and information provided by other volunteers.

Last Revised: December 7, 2006

Copyright The Somerset County, PAGenWeb Project.