Part of the PAGenWeb



Perry County was formed from Cumberland County on 23 March 1820.  At this time, it consisted of 7 townships namely, Tyrone; Toboyne; Rye; Greenwood; Juniata; Buffalo and Saville.  The county was named for Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry.  

Perry County is part of the Appalachian Mountain Region.  It is bordered on the north, west and south by the Tuscarora, Conococheague and Blue Mountains.  It's border on the east is the Susquehanna River.  

Presently, Perry County contains 21 townships; information on these townships can by viewed by clicking here.  The county seat is New Bloomfield.  
History of Perry Co. (S. Wright; 1873); Chapter II- Formation of Perry County


This site is maintained  by Cathy Wentz-Eisenstadt
Copyright 2003-2010.  All Rights Reserved.

This page was last updated on:   03/03/2009

People for better PA Historical Records Access (PaHR-Access)
Learn about the grassroots effort to make older PA state death certificates available on-line!!  Please consider helping.